Skip to content

July trip home

July 7, 2011

My “saving money while flying” ideas mostly worked.  None of them are revolutionary, but they are just something you have to actually DO rather than think “yeah, that sounds smart…”  I packed snacks, brought my own water bottle, and had plenty of reading material.  I ignored all the airport stores.  I paid $1.50 to get from work to the airport on the bus.

I swear that the previous time I brought an empty water bottle through security, I found myself in an airport with no water fountains.  Luckily for me, this was not LAX.  My plan still failed, since I (purposely) left my water bottle in my dad’s car, and then when I went to retrieve it, found out it got sent home with my mom since he thought it was hers.  Not only did I have to buy a $2 bottle of water before my flight home, but now I’m out one water bottle!  Fail!

Other than that, the vacation was fabulous.  It was a short trip home (4 full days, approximately), but every else had to get back to work on Tuesday or Wednesday too, so it was about the perfect length. I ran exactly ZERO miles because by the time I woke up, it was above 80 every day.  Spending time with my family was AWESOME and my niece and nephew are still the cutest people in the whole world.  (Until I have my own kids, when they might fall slightly in rank.)

 

My dad wouldn’t accept money for food or lodging, so the only money I spent was on some beer for my sister and I one night.  Oh, and the $600 plane ticket!  My cousin lives an hour away and said she spent only around $480 on hers – but she had a little more flexibility in her dates/times.  Sometimes it is just easier to pay full price than to fuss around with trying to save $100 on airfare (though I did TRY).  My best frugal vacation tip?  Leave the husband at home so you don’t have to buy him a ticket too!  🙂  But seriously, I missed him and wished he was there with me!

It’s the 7th and I haven’t even begun to think about July goals.  I’m working some extra hours to make up for the vacation day I took (I don’t actually want to use my vacation hours!), it is about 3 weeks until our big vacation, our apartment is a disaster, and we are hoping to go on a one night camping trip this weekend.

In short, life is busy, but really good!

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2011 7:46 am

    Not sure where you are from in the Midwest, but the picture really highlights the paradise that I’m not sure many people realize. I think it’s about time for me to plan a couple days home on the farm.

  2. July 7, 2011 8:13 pm

    Where is home? It looks beautiful!

    • July 8, 2011 7:08 am

      The photo is from western North Dakota. I’m from a few hours away from there.

  3. July 9, 2011 8:48 pm

    You can take your own water on flights? I thought the US had basically the strictest rules on the planet!

    • July 9, 2011 8:51 pm

      Yes… only if you bring the bottle through security empty, and fill it on the other side. Or buy the water on the other side of the security screening.

      (So… not really your own, but not directly from the plane.)

Leave a Reply

