Skip to content

July Meatless Monday Recipe: Goat Cheese and Arugula over Penne

July 11, 2011

Have you all heard of Meatless Monday?  The idea is to encourage people to eat less meat by devoting a day to going without meat.  I don’t celebrate this movement, mostly because I cook meatless dinners almost every single night.  (I eat meat at restaurants, if T requests a specific meat dish that I also like, or if someone cooks for me.   I am fine with eating meat, but I simply don’t usually enjoy the taste of meat as the main dish.)

This month, I thought I’d share some meatless recipes that I’ve recently tried and liked.  BTW, I could NEVER be a food blogger, because, sheesh, this is a lot of work!  Not only do you have to cook delicious things several times a week (!?! no cereal for dinner?), but you have to photograph it, then write about it!

So, let’s start with Goat Cheese & Arugula over Penne.  I linked to the recipe, but you practically can make it from the tile alone!   And I’m a big lover of both goat cheese and arugula, so I knew I couldn’t go wrong.

Except…  the title is missing what I consider the MOST IMPORTANT ingrediant:  cherry tomatoes.  I happened to get mine from the farmers market that weekend (I don’t always make the time for the FM), and they were so sweet and perfect that they really made this dish.

We made it again the next week.  It’s so super easy and fresh and summery.  The hardest part is probably chopping the tomatoes in half (<- not hard!).   Cheap too, at least compared to a meat dish.  I get my goat cheese at TJ’s for about $4/log (recipe is about 1/2 a log), arugula is maybe $2 a bag, and the tomatoes were another $3 or so.  Makes 4 servings!

Ok, your turn.  Any delicious summer pastas you like?  Meatless or otherwise?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2011 8:49 am

    Oh my gosh, that looks SO good. I was struggling this morning with my meal planning for the week and I think you just answered my question about what to serve on Thursday! Yum!!

  2. July 11, 2011 5:37 pm

    I’m pretty much vegan, i’m full time vego. I never misssed meat, but cheese I just cave sometimes, goat cheese and good parma… to die for

  3. July 11, 2011 5:39 pm

    I’m pretty much a vegan, but i loose my sh$% over goat cheese.

Trackbacks

  1. Meal Plan Monday « Where's Margie's Money?
  2. Nights Nights Baby « diggingoutandup

Leave a Reply

