Skip to content

Diversion obsession

July 13, 2011

You know how when work is crazy busy and on the side, you are trying to navigate career paths, then you also have a big vacation coming up and your little emotions are feeling like they are in a pinball machine… then you start to worry about totally unimportant things much much more than usual?  Well I do.

My latest diversion obsession is picking a dress for an August wedding.  I learned from last time not to wait until the last minute, or I’ll end up with something I like, but don’t feel totally comfortable in.  (The dress is way cute, but it felt kind of stuffy for a wedding.)   This wedding is all outdoors, and the bride is pretty relaxed, but I don’t know how formal the setting will be.  Probably middle of the road, as far as weddings go.

So here are two options, in quite different styles.  The first is much more fun/cute, the second is more grown up and fitted.  (Also, too long – I’d definitely be hemming the second one a bit.)

Dress A (belt and cardi not included, but I probably have them already):

Dress B:  Not a pro picture, because i can’t seem to find this dress online anymore. Nevermind the headless and footless model…  Why is this dress so long?!  I’m 5″7′!  Not short!

Opinions?

More options?

Indulge my diversion!  Join me in it!  (Seriously, help a fashion delinquent out!)

29 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2011 9:32 pm

    Argh I love them both! Throwing my hat in for #2 though

  2. July 14, 2011 1:30 am

    If it’s an outdoor wedding I’d go with option 1. If it’s indoor I’d go with option 2. Option 1 feels more casual so think for me it depends on the formality of the wedding. Two great options though!

  3. Katie permalink
    July 14, 2011 3:00 am

    Ooh, I like dress #2! Where did you try it on?

    • July 14, 2011 7:34 am

      At home! But it is from nordstrom, and i’m debating whether or not to return it.

      I originally ordered it from Nordstrom to get free shipping on the dress i REALLY wanted and optimistically ordered 2 sizes to big in hopes it could be easily tailored. The other one didn’t work at all (sizing, difficult to tailor due to ruching), but this one fit nicely, so I’m keeping it around as back-up in case I can’t find anything I liked better.

    • July 14, 2011 7:43 am

      I think it is the same cut as this one, just a different print:
      http://shop.nordstrom.com/S/maggy-london-floral-print-stretch-satin-sheath-dress/3165497?origin=category

  4. July 14, 2011 5:09 am

    In my humble opinion, if it’s not a day wedding, #1 isn’t really appropriate. But #2, I love! And I happen to think the length would be very flattering on someone who is 5’7″, as is. (i’m 5’7″, as well 🙂

  5. July 14, 2011 6:00 am

    I absolutely adore #1. A-line dresses are my favorite. The polka dots are soo cute!

  6. July 14, 2011 6:20 am

    #2 all the way. You could always get the dress hemmed, if you want it shorter. It looks like a basic hem so it shouldn’t cost too much (or you can do what I do and get your mom/relative to fix it, if they can!)

    • July 14, 2011 6:42 am

      Relatives are all faraway, but I agree, easy fix, probably cheap! I wish i knew someone with a sewing machine!

  7. July 14, 2011 6:47 am

    I really like number 2 for a wedding. I like number 1 for a bridal shower or a fun weekend dress. Longer dresses are in so I would only hem it to just above the knee!

  8. July 14, 2011 6:51 am

    I like #2, seems more appropriate for a wedding.

  9. Anna permalink
    July 14, 2011 6:55 am

    Not #2. It’s a nice dress and fits you beautifully, BUT
    1. i think it swings too far in the “adult” direction. You’re not 40.
    2. the colors are not very August. More appropriate for a late fall cocktail party than a wedding.

    • July 14, 2011 7:53 am

      So you say… neither?! 🙂

      I do agree with both points on #2, which is why #1 came into the picture. Number 2 is the back-up dress I’ll wear if I run out of time to find something more ideal. It will certainly work. Ideally, I would find something with a non-black background and slightly different cut. Taking even a couple inches off the length makes it more youthful (at least when i folded it myself, it seemed)… but yeah, agree.

      I’m being fussy about what dresses I’ll consider. I want a print, probably floral, unless the color is just right. I kind of want a v-neck or strapless, or some other neckline that isn’t too high cut. I don’t want to order from stores I’ve never shopped in person at, but i also don’t want to shop in person at a million stores.

      These are both nice, but my size is currently sold out:
      http://shop.nordstrom.com/S/donna-morgan-belted-chiffon-dress/3162291?origin=category
      http://shop.nordstrom.com/S/suzi-chin-maggy-boutique-stretch-satin-sheath-dress/3128192?origin=category

    • SP permalink*
      July 14, 2011 12:53 pm

      Hmm, I can’t reply yet again to your newest comment. Probably a 2, but BR sizing is a little special and I have had trouble with their sizing/fit for dresses

  10. July 14, 2011 7:52 am

    I like #2 for a summer wedding. But now you’ve got me checking out those online stores i’ve been avoiding for the past 3 months, and i’ve got itchy hands! Too bad I can’t ship anything to Indonesia. But here are some other options that I thought might interest you (and 25% off between 7/14-7/17!).

    Bold, bright color: http://bananarepublic.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=69887&vid=1&pid=850640&scid=850640002

    Demure & ladylike: http://bananarepublic.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=69884&vid=1&pid=833727

    Neutral and can be worn for nice dinners as well: http://bananarepublic.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=69887&vid=1&pid=850635&scid=850635012

  11. Megan permalink
    July 14, 2011 8:23 am

    I love #2. I also think it will work for you for many years to come. I have a dress that is similar in style and I have worn it to so many events – it just works for everything. I happen to love the length on you too, it’s just different enough.

    #1 seems too young/casual for a wedding.

  12. July 14, 2011 9:51 am

    I LOVE dress #2 – it’s gorgeous! But . . . I’m not not sure if it’s the right fit for a day time outdoor wedding in early autumn. If it’s an afternoon/evening event then I consider it more strongly . . but it just seems a little bit more on the formal side – I think it’s the colors more than the style of the dress that makes me say this.

    Dress #1 is super cute – love the style, the cut and the colors. Definitely think that of the two, this is my favorite choice if it’s for a daytime outdoor wedding.

    • SP permalink*
      July 14, 2011 12:57 pm

      Evening (5 p.m.) outdoor wedding. Clearly, I have no idea how dressy/formal I should be, as presented two wildly different levels of dressyness. 🙂

  13. July 14, 2011 10:37 am

    #1 seems a little casual, my vote is #2. Also, I feel a little awkward saying this, but you’ve got a great body! I wouldn’t mind trading arms with you. 🙂

    • SP permalink*
      July 14, 2011 12:55 pm

      Always pose with your hands on your hips 😉 I think celebrities have an even better pose where you angle yourself slightly towards the camera – I have not yet perfected that.

      But thank you!

  14. July 14, 2011 11:07 am

    I totally vote number 1! I think it’s super fun and cute, perfect for a wedding and could easily be worn again.

  15. July 14, 2011 1:57 pm

    I love the second dress!! Just get it hemmed. It’s adorable and looks great on you!

  16. July 14, 2011 6:20 pm

    Option 1 Option 1.

  17. July 14, 2011 8:42 pm

    #2, and take it to get it taken up a little bit if you’re not comfortable with the length. I think it’s more festive and happy for a happy occasion. 🙂

  18. July 15, 2011 3:08 pm

    um dress 1 for sure… I have no idea why everyone likes the second one so much

  19. Serendipity permalink
    July 15, 2011 4:04 pm

    I vote dress 1!

Trackbacks

  1. Dresses, Part 2 « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

