Skip to content

Dresses, Part 2

July 17, 2011

That was fun!

Thanks for all of your opinions!   Dress 2 had the most votes, but there were plenty of votes number 1 (or for neither!) as well.  For the record, I really wanted this dress, but I didn’t buy it quick enough to get my size and now the most similar available one is full priced and mostly black.  No thank you.

So, I’m not keeping dress 2.  For starters, it is about two times as expensive as dress 1, and I’m not in love with it enough to pay that much.  I do quite like the fit, but don’t care much for the specifics of the print.  Or the length (which is easily fixable).   It is close, it would do, but I have a feeling I’d never wear it again.  T really likes it, but… too bad for him.  So I’ll keep my eyes out for something in a similar cut that appeals to me more.

I did check out BR online, and they had some cute ones, but why is everything either pink or black???  I don’t really want pink or black.  I’ll stop by in person if I get a chance.

For now, I’m going with dress 1, unless I can find something better.  I agree it is on the causal side, but I’d be much more comfortable in it.   I’ll try to dress it up with accessories. (I say that as if I actually know how to properly utilize accessories.).   The wedding is all outdoors, but evening – 5 pm in Northern California.  I think removing the belt & cardigan might help?

Anyway, this dress is in line with what I’ve seen at weddings I’ve attended, but I’ve attended most weddings in small towns in the Midwest.  I worry I’m no longer qualified to judge the level of dressiness required after seeing someone come to a wedding in athletic pants?  (Clearly that was not acceptable.)

In my mind, East Coast and Southern weddings are typically  more formal than Midwest weddings, but i have no idea where California falls in line.  Despite the fact my own wedding was here.  At any rate, I feel like we have a very nice “do what you want” culture here, and I also doubt anyone (esp. the bride and groom) cares much what I wear.  As long as it is not athletic pants.  Or a wedding dress.

Do you think levels of wedding formality varies based on region?  Or does it just depend based on the wedding itself?  And how can you tell in advance?

(PS – who knew an eye infection could ruin a whole weekend?  Not me!)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2011 5:38 pm

    If you in Australia good jeans can some times cut it:)

  2. July 18, 2011 1:26 am

    Dry eye/loose lenses can ruin a day, so yes, an infection can defo wipe out a weekend!

  3. oilandgarlic permalink
    July 18, 2011 1:16 pm

    I missed this whole discussion..but BR is having a great sale right now so you should check out their stores. I found that they have better deals in-store oftentimes. Not sure if this is happening but on Saturday, they were have a sale on top of a sale and handing out an additional 25% off coupons, plus they still seemed to have a good selection. Obviously it’s harder to use if you’re looking for a specific item for a special occasion.

    I think CA is more casual but obviously it depends on the bride /groom’s taste and families.

  4. Karen permalink
    July 18, 2011 5:37 pm

    I think that dress is fine for an outdoor wedding. I think ‘outdoor’ automatically makes dress code less formal.
    I would think you might want a shrug for your outfit if it’s in N CA? That could dress it up if you’re concerned. But then, you’ve midwestern blood so maybe evenings there aren’t that cool for you. (I am a wimp and am chilly at 75 degrees).
    I really like your initial choice dress; too bad none left in your size.

  5. Slinky permalink
    August 15, 2011 9:07 am

    I generally figure out formality at a wedding based on location, time and invites. Indoor is more formal than outdoor, later is more formal than earlier. A garden wedding is less formal than in a ballroom at the victorian hotel downtown. Invites can also reflect the “feel” of the wedding and give you a clue as to formality.

    For dressing it up, think of what you would wear with a more formal dress or gown and then find something along the same lines that goes with your dress. You wouldn’t wear a cardigan with any sort of fancy gown, but you might wear a shawl. Likewise, avoid flat sandals or chunky jewelry which seem more casual.

Leave a Reply

