Skip to content

July Meatless Monday Recipe: Sushi Roll Edamame Salad

July 25, 2011

Yum!  On Saturday, T and I were sitting around trying to talk ourselves out of going out to eat.  I decided that instead of going to a restaurant, I’d get some ingredients to make something new.  Since we couldn’t go out for sushi (and aren’t ready to try to make our own)… How about a salad version?

The recipe for a Sushi Roll Edamame Salad looked so fun!  I headed straight to the most un-frugal of all grocery stores, Whole Foods, figuring they would have all the ingredients I needed (plus tapioca flour, which I wanted for something else).  I found everything I needed and went to work.

It was now my third time using fresh ginger, and I got some more use out of the Asian sauces I got to make the three cup tofu I shared last week. The recipe was pretty easy – just chopping things then putting it all back together.  However, it wasn’t so cheap, mostly because I got all my produce at Whole Foods.  Hmph.

This salad was great!  That’s why I’m sharing it, instead of some things I liked less.  Both T and I had a second serving, turning it into a pretty decent sized meal.  You can’t see it in this photo, but there is brown rice & edamame in this salad, which make it really filling.  Especially with the avocado.  Yum.

So… This delicious salad brings us to the end of July Meatless Mondays.  I know I only shared three recipes, but  I’m gone the first two weeks of August (woooo!), so it’s definitely on hold for now.  Maybe I’ll bring this series back in the fall if anyone (even just one of you!) says you enjoyed it.  What do you think?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2011 6:14 pm

    I used ginger mince because I don’t think there’s much of a difference in flavour to fresh ginger. However I use fresh garlic because I think the preprepared stuff has no flavour

  2. August 2, 2011 8:09 pm

    I think this series is great! We also do meatless mondays, and I’m always looking for fun new recipes.

Leave a Reply

