Skip to content

The More Money You Have, The More Choices You Have

August 8, 2011

I’m currently on vacation (yay!), so today’s post is the first ever guest post on my blog, courtesy of the lovely Serendipity from Serendipity Guide to Saving

Many people aren’t aware of this, but I work for a non-profit that services children of all ages. We specialize in running core programming for children of all ages that deals with education and prevention. One of our programs that I am especially fond of is teaching young adults ( preteens and teens) the beauty of money along with how to be smart with it. I wish as a child I could have had the joy of this program, since I wasn’t taught any money skills at all when I was younger, and I think a lot of the youngsters are in the same boat so I happily teach them the program.

We covered a small session with a guest speaker the other day and he had the opportunity to teach the children four different things you could do with your money. Now, that wasn’t the thing that necessarily pertained to me since I’m an adult and I already know these things, but I am a sucker for money quotes. And of course, a money quote came out that I can’t seem to get out of my head.

The more money you have, the more choices you have.

How powerful is such a small statement? And how true is it, that the more money you have, the more choices you have? A lot of people, myself included, would be so much different if they had more money. I wouldn’t have debt and wouldn’t worry about student loans if I had more money. I wouldn’t worry about my car loan incurring interest because I’d have that sucker paid off. I wouldn’t worry about a lot of things actually.

How many of us need something, but can’t have because we simply don’t have the money? How many choices do we make in our lives based upon our bank accounts balance? Some of you may have wanted to take time off to be with your kids but couldn’t because the money simply wasn’t there. How many of us needed a more reliable car but couldn’t afford one because we didn’t have that emergency fund saved up and charged it to our credit cards? As a matter of fact, how many people charge their emergencies to their credit cards and now have to pay interest every month for the cards that life dealt them?

It’s quite simple really. The more money we have, the more choices we have. We aren’t pigeonholed into something simply because we don’t have the means to see our way out of it. With more money, your opportunities are endless and your pressures are lessened. A peace of mine comes over you like you wouldn’t believe. Recently, I found myself in a situation that wasn’t my fault and was able to see myself out of that very day because I had my emergency fund. I was sad to see it go, but I was sincerely happy that I was able to see myself out of it,by myself and rather quickly. I didn’t have to beat myself up or ask for help, it was taken care of with a simple phone call. It was such a relief.

So, are you determined to save yet?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2011 9:07 am

    This is SO it! Pretty much sums up my whole financial philosophy. I don’t make a lot of money, so I don’t have the kinds of options afforded to many other people my age just based on my paycheque, but I save a good chunk of it every month as a way to GIVE myself those choices. If I didn’t save, and someone invited me on a spur of the moment vacation, I’d have to decline, because there’s no way I could pay for it without putting it on a credit card. But because I have money in the bank? I can now say “heck yes!” so a vacation, or a car or grad school. I don’t know if those are things that I necessarily want to spend my money on right now, but it’s nice knowing that I have the option.

  2. August 8, 2011 10:46 am

    I agree. But something has to be said for the best things in life being free. I feel that with more money people do not really appreciate what they have and develop a sense of entitlement. That is not to say that I didn’t have a bit of extra cash to pay around with.

  3. oilandgarlic permalink
    August 10, 2011 8:24 am

    I’m so glad about some of my money choices because it gave me more options as I got older. Not to say I couldn’t have saved more or made smarter spending decisions but overall I never went crazy with spending so that I was able to take a hit in income for maternity leave and to have kids.

Trackbacks

  1. Off We Go « diggingoutandup
  2. Link love (Powered by sorbet and technical difficulties) | Musings of an Abstract Aucklander

Leave a Reply

