Skip to content

Financial Detox

August 15, 2011

I’m back from vacation, but way too tired to share about that right now – but soon!  (Preview:  it was amazing!  And expensive!)

I just got a supply of groceries, and I’m thinking it is time to embark on a no spend week, Monday – Monday.  Exceptions allowed, if needed, for produce and quinoa or some other whole grains.  My body is screaming for healthy food and I think it would be unwise to ignore it! I stocked up on some, but I”m not sure I have enough food for healthy meals for a whole week.

T has a bachelor party weekend that will run him about $300 when all is said and done, and I’ll be one my own for the weekend, so I guess this challenge is just for me.  This also means I won’t have an automatic date to any dinners and it’ll be easier to stick to my guns.  I’m seriously looking forward to some chill time, and I do not intend on making any social plans for myself.

I’ve never really done no spend challenges.  I really don’t have the motivation to stick to it, and even when we set up “no eating out challenges” it just takes one bad day to break us.   Still, it is kind of like a financial detox, and I’m going to go for it!

Do you ever come back from vacation and feel overwhelmed by the spending?  It was all expected and we can afford it, but it was still spending far beyond our usual daily level!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2011 7:27 am

    No spend challenges make me want to spend more…

  2. August 15, 2011 8:58 am

    I hate counting how much I spend which away. At the time its like “well I am allowed, its a vacation!” but then when all is said and added it is always more than I though. I do love the rejuvenation from being on vacation! Cant wait to hear all about it (maybe even a picture or two?).

  3. August 15, 2011 1:39 pm

    Always! Love travel, hate spending money.

Leave a Reply

