Skip to content

Vacation Recovery Plan

August 16, 2011

The worst thing about vacation is coming home!  I never ever leave a day to recover post-vacation, even though I know deep down that I should.  This vacation we at least had half a day to get groceries and do laundry.  Since it is so late in the month, I’m not going to bother with August goals, just my vacation recovery plan.

Staying Well

  • Eat healthy to try to ward off any illness
  • Sleep a lot, but only at acceptable hours (to recover from jet lag)
  • Get in a few easy 3 miles runs during the week

Finance & Work

  • Work 8 extra hours by next Thursday, so I don’t have to take Friday as an upaid day (flex time is great).  Plus, I have plenty of work to catch up on, so this should be NO problem.  I think I’ll go in for 1/2 of Saturday.
  • Examine vacation spending & budget
  • Examine net worth (eeek!  I was happily out of the country and not listening to much news during the crazy market the last couple weeks)

I also would like to process my pictures, filter and post some for my family/friends, and write some reflections and such in my personal journal.  (My biggest Facebook pet peeve is people who do not filter their vacation photos before posting.  I do not care how amazing & awesome the trip was, no on wants to see 300 vacation photos.)   And finish the book I’m in the middle of, and start the next.  And go for a longer run.  And clean the apartment.  And I saw some recipes I want to try…    But first things first, I need to go hang out with my husband!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2011 7:02 pm

    Good luck! I always give myself one day after vacation to rest and relax before going back to work.

    In defense of those Facebook people, some use FB as an off-site back up for their photos. Just a thought. 🙂 I don’t have an account, but I could see the benefit of doing that.

  2. August 16, 2011 7:35 pm

    OMG, you are back! how did i not know this already?! Rushing to your blog to find out more!

    (While off-site backup is reasonable, I don’t think FB is a very practical method for that. But people aren’t necessarily practical, so maybe you are right! 🙂 )

  3. August 17, 2011 8:32 am

    Jeeze, I wish I had this 5 days ago. I went to WV For a camping/rafting trip, and ended up getting sick on the way back. Got my flight delayed and didnt get home till 315 am and had to go into work later that day. It was an unproductive day to say the least.

Leave a Reply

