Skip to content

No Spend Week Fail

August 17, 2011

Well, I don’t like to call it a fail, let’s just call it delayed!   The new start date is TODAY and the new end date is next Wednesday!  I’ll probably have to make one extra exception for needed groceries.

Here’s what happened.  Note that I am the worst pf blogger ever.

Monday, day 1:  My first day back at work, a coworker invites me to lunch.  I go out to eat with him roughly once a month and consider it partially mentoring and partially social.  Despite remembering my no-spend week, I agree.   Lunch is about $15 after tax & tip.  I decide that my no spend week is now going to be Tuesday through next Monday.

Tuesday, day 1 (again!):  This day was better.  I ate the lunch I had packed on Monday.  I was still feeling tired from jet lag, but I also was able to get in extra early (due to jet lag!) and made it through 9 hours.  Except at hour 7 or 8, I went to refill my water bottle and noticed an empty box for frozen receses ice cream treats in the garbage.  It looked SO good that I went to the freezer to see if there were any left.  There was 1!  They were labeled at 75 cents and I bought one.  I wonder if I can let this slide, as it is < $1 (but totally NOT healthy!)    We have a lot of snack food for sale at work, but it is mostly junk so I don’t like to buy it.     Later that night, i saw that APW had some more tote bags available.  I was on vacation and though they were all gone!  I was so excited that I totally forgot my no-spend challenge and bought one for $20 + tax and shipping.  Fail!  But I support Yay New York!

Wednesday, day 1 (again!):  This is harder than I thought!  I mean… should I even bother?!  (This is where you encourage me!)    But actually, so far, so good.  I am definitely going to need to buy groceries before next Wednesday, but other than that, I think I can make it!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2011 6:04 pm

    Ha! That is how I diet! And also spend money, now I come to think of it.. surely that can of coke/magazine/really cute vase doesn’t count?

    Good luck for the rest of the week! (And groceries are ok if you just get the bare minimum necessities, which I would also totally fail at 🙂

  2. August 18, 2011 1:07 am

    This sounds exactly like my week. Monday – Delayed. Tuesday – Delayed. Luckily I didn’t spend anything today, and I hope to continue it onto the next week. Crossing my fingers for both of us!

  3. August 18, 2011 1:28 pm

    Don’t be too hard on yourself. Those no spend days are hard to conquer! I’ve been having the no spend day fail errr I mean delay myself.

  4. August 19, 2011 9:25 am

    my week whole month has already gone to heck! I am sure things will improve for you!

Leave a Reply

