Skip to content

Get It Together: Fitness

August 24, 2011

I think I’m a little burned out.  Work has been more stressful than usual, so in the rest of  life I barely can get myself to do anything beyond the minimum!  It’s not a great cycle, as doing productive things makes me happier and more motivated.   You can expect a few more “Getting it Together” posts where I target finances, fashion (yay!), and daily routines.

I can’t get my fitness act together this summer!

This isn’t to say I haven’t been active.  Even on our vacation, aside from walking the cities every day, we did a couple good hikes and did some walking on a glacier another day.  I’ve been running sporadically.  But I can’t get into a routine.  I can barely get a post out about my lack of ability to get my fitness (and other life things!) in order!  Seriously, it took me 3 tries.

I usually sign up for races as fitness motivation, but I’m worried – what if I sign up and I’m still not motivated?!  I have never showed up at a race unprepared (except maybe my first race – a 10k), and I really want to get some PRs.

Here’s the deal I made with myself.  Before I sign up for a half marathon (probably $80 or $90!), I need to complete at least two 6 mile (or more) runs.  This is not hard, I could do these on a weeknight.  But I just need to prove to myself that I really want this!

Anyone have tips for getting motivated?  Also, any tips for getting over my yoga anxiety and just using the stupid Groupon I bought awhile ago?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2011 8:45 pm

    Well misery love company, so if it makes you feel better my exerciser routine has gone to the god this summer too. And I miss yoga terribly. It is so great, and I really think you will love it…granted that it may take a class or 2 to get into it, you will walk out of there feeling like a millions bucks…and besides no once can see you when they are in downwards facing dog!

  2. August 24, 2011 11:25 pm

    I have to find it a little funny that you’re suffering from yoga anxiety, because yoga was what I started doing to help deal with my anxiety! lol. Don’t worry about looking silly, no one is going to be looking at you. If they are, they aren’t focusing on their practice, and probably aren’t very serious about yoga/won’t stick around long anyway.

    Sadly, I’ve also been slacking on the fitness front this summer. At least I know I’m in good company. Signing up for a challenging task kicked my butt into gear last year, but this year that didn’t work. Let us know if you hit on something good that works!

  3. August 25, 2011 7:00 am

    I love yoga. I can’t do it right now because the extra weight I’ve gained makes it difficult to do the poses, but I can’t wait until I lose it so I can do yoga again!

    As far as getting motivated, I’m the worst for that. Something just snapped this time, and I realized that i can’t stay like this.. so I got my ass to the gym. But I have always struggled with motivation,. I find listening to certain songs and chugging calorie free energy drinks (and/or coffee) really gets my motivation up.

    Good luck!

  4. August 25, 2011 7:46 am

    My advice about yoga – just do it. I love it even though I’m not very good. I think it helps a lot when you are a runner because it stretches out muscles you don’t know you have!

    Just let the instructor know you are a beginner and don’t worry if you can’t do every pose. Even after being on a regular schedule I can never do all of the poses!!

  5. August 25, 2011 8:06 am

    Buying new workout clothes always does the trick for me. Rue La La right now has a sale on New Balance stuff, they’ve got some cute running shoes. Hope you find your motivation soon!

  6. August 25, 2011 9:16 am

    Yoga is great and you’ll feel so much better after doing it. Not that I should preach because I haven’t worked out in months. No reason for anxiety! Plus it’s actually quite calming and may be helpful during stressful times.

  7. Megan permalink
    August 25, 2011 10:08 am

    Honestly, you just have to force yourself to do it. And to do it regularly. If work is kicking your butt and you are too tired to do it afterwards, exercise first thing in the morning. Or leave at a scheduled time (5) and do work at home after dinner. Go at lunch. There will always be an excuse not to do something.

    Make it a habit to do something 3/4x a week, even if it isn’t at 100% and after a couple of weeks you will be accustomed to doing it and can start addressing the effort level you are putting towards it. But once you start doing it, you’ll feel better and will want to do it more.

  8. August 25, 2011 2:21 pm

    I’m feeling the same right about now due to work chaos. I would like to see myself joining a marathon down the road only if my shin splints will allow me.

    Maybe you can start by making a goal chart of runs you can get in every night and if you were to miss a night a certain amount of money is deducted? That would surely get me up and going.

  9. August 25, 2011 5:49 pm

    I think the best way is to try to find a workout partner! (Says me who has never had one…except when I was friends with my bootcamp instructor back in San Diego.) I think trying to make working out a hobby is also a good idea, which is why I LOVE taking classes – I find them fun, in addition to obviously getting my sweat on. As for yoga, just do it! Whether you need a Groupon to get started, or maybe even find a Meetup group. There was a free beach Meetup yoga group in SD that I never joined – but should have.

  10. August 26, 2011 4:00 am

    You’re still trying and you WANT to which I think is half the battle. The motivation will come. If you try to value your fitness as a way to keep you focused, healthy and strong it might lead to more motivation. My fitness routine is insurance for my sanity. I work from home with 2 kids and I need it!

  11. September 1, 2011 10:54 am

    I always put on some good workout music to get me pumped to exercise like Spice Girls 🙂 You can also try getting one of those work out dvds. I used Jillian Michael’s 30 day workout and it was pretty good. You just have to think about it by days, day 1, day 2, day 3, etc.

Trackbacks

  1. Get It Together: Daily Routines « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

