Skip to content

Get It Together: Daily Routines

September 21, 2011

My plan for getting my fitness routine back on track turned out to be wildly successful!  I’m back in the habit of running, mixing in a few other things as time and motivation permits.  I love running, and I’m doing it, so I’m counting it as a success.  I did my two six mile runs (oh, and a 45 mile backpack and a 18 mile day hike  – details coming!) and am running a November half marathon.  I haven’t signed up yet – I don’t want to part with the money (but I will). Fitness is going strong!

But you know what is really holding me back in getting stuff done?  Crappy daily routines, especially the key morning and evening routines.  Here fis a fairly typical morning for SP:

5:45 – alarm goes off, I turn it off
6:15 – alarm 2 goes off, I turn it off
6:30 – T’s alarm goes off, he gets up, showers, makes coffee, etc.
7:00 – T delivers me a latte in bed (what a saint!), I grab a bowl of cereal and take it to bed, and read blogs while eating & sipping.  Sometimes I write one too
7:30 – I realize it is really late and I need to get going.  So I tweet about how I need to get going.  As if that is useful.  As if anyone cares!  Then I see what everyone else is tweeting about and click on anything that looks interesting
7:40 – OK, I’m getting up.  Shower (unless I showered the night before), get ready, pack lunch (sometimes)
8:00 – 8:40:  Finally make it out the door

Isn’t that horrible?  So much wasted time!  Also, it is totally dependent on my husband, because if the coffee comes later in the morning, I just wait for it.  I don’t need the caffeine to get going (seriously), it’s just a bad habit.  Flex time is a blessing and a curse.

How can such a productive and motivated person such as myself sustain this schedule?  The answer is, I really can’t.  I have too much I want to be doing to be wasting so much time.  Some of what I want to be doing is merely relaxing (I want to read novels!), some of it is productive, but it is all much more important to me than dinking around in the mornings.  I’m not spending my time in line with my priorities.

I won’t waste your time with my evening routines, but let’s just say I’m typing this at 11 p.m., even though I’ve already decided that my blog is not going to be a high priority in my life.  Certainly not more than sleep!

So what is my plan to fix this? How am I going to get it together?

  • I really just have to get up earlier, no excuses
  • Learn to use our espresso maker so I don’t have to wait on T
  • Limit online time in the mornings, and leave by 7 or 7:30

Do you struggle with morning (or evening) routines?  Any tips on how to make those plans a reality?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. beingirene permalink
    September 22, 2011 7:19 am

    Reading your morning routine was like I was reading about myself. I set two alarms every morning – one at 630 and one at 650 and promptly shut both of them off and wait til the BF gets up at around 730 and then I rush to get ready for work (shower, pick out an outfit, grab a granola bar and drive to work for 8am!) I rarely pack a lunch because I just don’t have time in the mornings and the night before just doesn’t seem to happen either! I hate feeling rushed or having anxiety about being late – yet I do it to myself every morning. I know the rare occasions that i do get up before 7, my day is so much more smoother – I get to have a nice long shower, eat some breakfast actually blowdry my hair! Its something that I’m definately working on.

  2. September 22, 2011 12:07 pm

    I have found that a written schedule and/or checklist really helps me in the morning, with *times* so I know when I am behind schedule.

    For example:

    6:45 – alarm goes off
    7:05 – must be out of shower before this time
    7:25 – eat breakfast
    7:45 – out the door

    I don’t necessarily have to get dressed before breakfast, but I do have to eat breakfast. I don’t necessarily have to get up when the alarm goes off, but I do have to be out of the shower by 7:05. So I can get up at the alarm and take a leisurely shower, or get up at 7 and rush through it…

  3. September 22, 2011 3:01 pm

    i found that setting my alarm later let me get more and better sleep and that not giving myself time to putz around in the morning motivated me not to. i set my alarm for 7, eat breakfast, get dressed, and pack lunch and leave by 7:30. setting my alarm later lets me go to bed later without being tired so now i hit the gym around 8pm after all the stuff i have to do after work is done but before i get sucked into lazy stuff like watching tv. if i wake up before my alarm i use that time for extra walking with my dog.

  4. September 22, 2011 7:55 pm

    i too am struggling with morning & evening routines. I used to get up early every day to workout. Now I sleep in till the last minute. I too am not living my priorities.

  5. October 1, 2011 11:46 am

    I also suck at sticking to routines. And showing up late-ish at work, even if everyone knows I’ll make up for it by staying later, doesn’t give a good impression.

    I think part of my morning fail has to do with a bedtime fail. I need to get to bed earlier. Start winding down 10:30 or 11 so I can get into bed by midnight at the latest (I’m saying this is what I should do, I’m still working on actually doing it!). Then I’m less tired in the morning, and I’ll actually get out of bed.

    So, I think the thing that messes me up the most (both at night and in the morning) is my computer. Sometimes I’m actually reading something interesting, but often times I’m just floating around facebook or tweeting about how I should be in bed 😛 And if I check my computer in the morning, I find myself drawn in (like you are) and wasting time there.

    I think part of the routines is the need to get my boyfriend on board. If one of us is up late, the other stays up late, too. Same with getting up in the morning. If we keep hitting snooze, we’re never getting out the door!

    I think I’m going to try to use my timer more often, give myself 15 minutes tops online in the morning, and have that get me motivated to get out the door.

    Also, knowing everything is ready the next day (clothes laid out, lunch packed) makes me feel better about getting up in the morning.

Leave a Reply

