Skip to content

Fall

September 22, 2011

It was early September when I glanced at my wall calendar and noted that it was still flipped to July.  I had totally missed August, which wasn’t surprising given that I was gone the first 16 days and out of town the other weekends.  Before I knew it, fall was here.

On the coast in Los Angeles, September is actually the warmest month of the year (says weather.com), but only by a degree or two since the climate is so moderate.  Still, it’s been decidedly chilly for a few days, and I was super excited to break out my tall brown boots this week.  Maybe it is only a few degrees, but I still embrace the seasons that we have here.  And we DO have seasons here, they are just more subtle, gentle and friendly rather than abrupt and bold.

This summer, particularly the lost month of August, was absolutely amazing.  It seems like every year for the past several years, I’ve only been able to look back and reflect on how awesome everything has been.  I’m so grateful to have the life I have, even with my little list of first world problems (I desperately want a promotion!  I’m not going to make my year long running goal!  I’m (rather suddenly) dying to travel to Vancouver, but it is has to be a summer trip, and summer is over!)

I’m trying to hold myself back from planning too much, but I’ve already started pestering T to try squeeze in one last backpacking trip in the Seirras, a thanksgiving canoe trip, and a (totally unrealistic, budget-wise, even though it would be fairly cheap) long weekend on some beach in Mexico.  And that’s just vacations!  I’m trying to volunteer at a non-profit, training for a half marathon, and am seriously considering applying for new jobs so I can play hard ball to get the salary I deserve.  And I have a stack of books of all sorts I want to read.

Meanwhile, my husband is wrapping up his summer contracting job, starting his dissertation, flying off to conferences, and starting to look for jobs in academia.  (it took me about 1.5 years, but I can finally say “my husband” without feeling goofy.)

Ambition – it’s a double edge sword, huh?  I love the adventures I’ve been having lately, but I’m always left wishing for more time.

How about you?  Are you winding down from any summer adventures, or is your fall just as jam-packed as summer? 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2011 6:29 am

    So far, my fall is just as packed as my summer – maybe more so! The biggest reason is five weddings in five weeks (three down, two to go!) with travel required for two of them. Somehow, summer ended without me realizing it!

  2. Bonnie permalink
    September 22, 2011 6:42 am

    Our fall is packed. We’ll actually be on vacation in Southern California next week. Then the weekend after we come back, we’ll be hosting an out-of-town friend at our house for several days. Then we are considering a long weekend in Asheville, NC, at the end of October. And then come the holidays, always filled with travel for most of us!
    We live only about 5 hours away from Chicago, so I am sure we will squeeze in a long weekend there, too, before it gets too cold.

    I think the urgency that a lot of us feel to travel is normal. In fact, it kind of fits in with your post about getting older and realizing that you may not be able to do everything that you thought you might when you were young. I realize that in the near future (I hope!), we may not be able to travel as much as we can now if we have a kid (or at least, our vacations will be ‘different’).

  3. September 22, 2011 4:25 pm

    I have an exam at the end of the month so I have been crazy busy, and cannot believe it is almost the end of the month. My break will come in the fist week of October, and even that will be filled with cleaning and organizing everything I have been neglecting all summer.

Leave a Reply

