Skip to content

Finally Getting a Kindle (and paying an extra $25 to exclude ads)

September 26, 2011

I’m not an early adopter.  Being an early adopter is expensive.  When e-readers came out, I didn’t really bother looking into them. They were expensive, and I wasn’t reading that much at the time because I was busy juggling work and school.  Still, I knew I’d eventually get one.  The day has come!

The deciding factor was the fact that, finally, Kindle now allows you to check out books from your local library.  They also have a sharing system of sorts, and my sister said I could somehow link  up to all the books she has in her amazon account – maybe.  I’m not sure how that works yet, but it might be worth figuring out.

(To be an educated consumer, please read what Little Miss Moneybags wrote about Amazon & their business model last week.)

The price point of the Kindle has fallen dramatically.  You can now get a Wi-fi (no 3G) kindle for just $114.  I paid an extra $25 to avoid the sponsored screen savers.  I hate advertisements, and $25 seemed like such a small price to pay over the lifetime of a Kindle.

A huge perk of an e-reader is I can now carry a nearly unlimited amount of books with me for a mere 8.5 ounces.  I wish I would have had this on our big trip this summer!  It should be here next week – I’m so excited!

Do you have an e-reader?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2011 4:42 am

    I bought a Kindle 3G in May so that I could read books and look up information without paying data or roaming charges. I love reading and occasionally end up with around 50 books checked out from the library. I used to take one or two books with me on the subway ride, as I read really quickly. The Kindle’s much easier to carry, and it gives me the opportunity to look things up too. The Toronto Public Library doesn’t support library checkouts yet, but I hope they will someday!

  2. September 26, 2011 7:23 am

    Thanks for the link! I love having an e-reader for exactly the reason you mention – I ALWAYS have books with me. I keep track of the books that I read each year, and I noticed an increase of 20% the year I had an e-reader vs. previous years, which I attribute simply to always having another book to start when I finish one.

  3. September 26, 2011 8:04 am

    I do have a Nook, but I don’t use it as much as I should (bad Beagle, bad!). I’ve heard that Amazon is supposed to announce their own Kindle tablet, would would hopefully include the capabilities of the iPad along with their e-reader, so I’m hoping to see something positive there as I’ve got a little ‘tablet’ fund going!

  4. September 26, 2011 10:05 am

    I have the same Kindle that you’re getting, and I love it! I was reluctant to get one at first, because I thought that I liked the physical feeling of books. It turns out that love fitting a ton of books in my purse/suitcase even more. I also really like that you can put it down and keep reading hands-free. Congratulations on your purchase!

  5. September 26, 2011 10:51 am

    I don’t have one, but i’ve already asked my husband for one for my birthday!

  6. September 26, 2011 2:05 pm

    Rambo bought me a Kindle for my birthday but I haven’t used it as nearly as much as I should have. I had way too many physical books to read from the library first but I’m almost caught up and ready to go!

  7. September 26, 2011 3:15 pm

    I have a Nook and love it! A word of caution though since the library thing is a big factor for you – I’ve found I have to wait just as long (if not longer) to get an e-book version from the library as a paper version. They still only have limited copies of each book.

  8. September 26, 2011 3:47 pm

    I have the original Kindle, and love it. And the loaning books is pretty easy – you do it from Manage my Kindle on Amazon’s website. However, whether a book is loanable, how long it is loanable for, and how many times it can be loaned differs book to book depending on the author and publisher’s rules. But I’ve found more and more available, and this week checked out my first book for the Kindle from the library. And my reading has definitely sped up b/c of the ease of carrying it with me.

  9. myria101 permalink
    September 28, 2011 10:30 am

    I have a second generation Kindle, I believe. It was a gift and I love mine too. You mentioned linking up with your sister’s account so that you could get books. I have heard of this and I think you can Google “sharing Kindle books across accounts” or something. What I remember reading is that you have to unregister your Kindle and then register it again under your sister, friend’s, or whomever’s account to get their books. Your books remain on your Kindle, but then you’ll have the other person’s books as well. Then unregister the Kindle once again and register it back into your name/account. Sounds like a pain to me and I haven’t personally done it yet either. It would be worth the effort of going through all of that in order to share books and not have to pay for them all over again if your friend has books you are interested in reading and you don’t want to wait for the library.

    Also, I read fanfiction and under the experimental function on the menu is where you get to the web browser if you aren’t aware of that. I was very excited when I got mine and discovered that I could read fanfiction off the internet on my Kindle. I didn’t research e-readers before I got my Kindle and I was just like “I want that!” I’ve grown up a little since then and now I do research things more and compare prices. I still would have chosen the Kindle though. I love the e-ink technology versus the backlit kind of readers or tablets.

Leave a Reply

