Skip to content

Um, nevermind!

September 28, 2011

I knew Amazon was coming out with a tablet, but I’m not really interested in a tablet.  I wanted an e-reader with an e-ink screen.

But – they also came out with a new Kindle Touch and lowered the price of the regular Kindle!?  I guess I could have suspected something like that would happen!  It seems like my Kindle 3, scheduled to arrive today (!) is going back, and I’ll wait another month to get the next generation – after I see all of this on the news in more than one source!

What would you do?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2011 8:06 am

    I’d wait for the touch screen Kindle for sure. Touch makes a huge difference for me..

    I personally have the iPad which is something I didn’t like because it didn’t have e-ink, but it is the 10″ i need for comic books and in full colour :\

  2. September 28, 2011 9:34 am

    The news is everywhere now, so I think you’re safe on that count! 🙂

    I should have thought to warn you in your last post about the Kindle – I knew that this announcement was coming, although I didn’t know the specifics, and I just didn’t think to mention it. Amazon has historically dropped prices on everything each time they release a new device, and their new devices tend to be priced lower than the introductory prices of older versions with each announcement.

    There’s also a rumor that eventually Amazon Prime members will be given free Kindles, but I don’t know how much truth there is to that.

    • September 28, 2011 10:05 am

      If I had sat down and thought about it for a minute, I probably could have guessed this too – all companies seem to do this, and it really isn’t surprising. Ooops!

      At least i haven’t opened it (or got it) yet. I think i’ll go with the kindle touch for the same price as I just paid for what they are now calling “kindle keyboard”

Leave a Reply

