Skip to content

October 2011 Goals

October 6, 2011

I have no clear focus this month.  I have a lot of things I want/need to do, but they are all over the place.  We’ll see how this goes!

Finances – because this is a finance blog, right?

  • Maximum of one work lunch out a week:  I would like to see this lower, but I slip up a lot.  Extra credit if it is less!
  • Reduce restaurant spending:  This is an interesting goal, as I’m writing it on the 7th and we already have spent a fair amount because we participated in DineLA.  But I think we can do this.
  • Complete year-end financial projections:  I’ve been saying this since about June, haven’t I?  I honestly don’t think I’ll do it, but I should.  So I’ll list it.

Fitness:

  • Run two 10k races
  • Run average of 20 miles a week (exceptions if we go on a backpacking trip one weekend)
  • Do a long run of at least 13 miles
  • Do at least one run with a local group: there are several options nearby, no reason not to give it a shot!
  • Backpacking trip!  This is mostly planned and is an easier one, but I’ll still get to chill in the mountains for a couple days.
  • Try out rockclimbing

Work:

  • Use my lunch hour plan:  I want to write a post about exactly what this is, but it is also fairly obvious.  I work through lunch probably 50% of the time (because I get in later and don’t want to stay too late or because I’m just busy), and I think that is ok.  But I want my lunch hour  to be used intentionally, every day.
  • Speak with mentor #2 about plans for the next several months:  I have an official lead, and someone else who is in charge of some of my work.  I want to stay involved in his stuff, but I’m not clear what the plan is.  Having a conversation is a good start, right?
  • Attend volunteer event & follow up with other place:  I’m trying to get involved in a longer term relationship with a non-profit, and I might be doing something with them this month.  It has been slow going so far.  Still, I have a one off volunteer event I’m going to help with, either way.

Misc:

  • Return sweater
  • Find a dentist that will take my stupid insurance – why is this so hard?
  • Hair appointment, manicure, eye brows (trying to stay professional looking here)
  • Book Christmas tickets
  • Attend baby shower w/gift
  • Attend book club
  • Finish Halloween costume
  • Read 4 books
3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2011 11:42 am

    Those are very lofty goals. We set end-of-year financial goals (with relation to net worth) at the beginning of the year. So, we’re getting to the point where it’s becoming clearer what looks like it will be achieved and what won’t and we can start thinking about next years goals. Whenever you set as your ‘period’ to goal-set, it’s definitely a worthwhile exercise!

  2. October 7, 2011 11:56 am

    I’d love to hear about your intentional lunch plans! I try to use my lunch hour intentionally, too (mostly for reading blogs or e-books) and I could definitely use some inspiration/accountability in that area.

  3. October 20, 2011 10:15 pm

    I love that you set monthly goals.. what a great idea! I’m currently putting together my vision of my life in 10 years, along with my 10, 5, and 1 year goals accordingly as a part of my new hire process at lululemon. They have us break down our goals in 3 categories: personal, health, and professional. I think having a financial category would be very helpful for me as a young twentysomething, a year out from college.

    In other words, thanks for this idea! I’ll definitely be following your blog from now on 🙂

    -Sandy.
    20something vs. World

Leave a Reply

