Skip to content

How much is a smart phone worth?

October 19, 2011

The most frugal people don’t have cell phones at all.  The mostly frugal people don’t have smart phones.  But the rest of us?  We have smart phones.

As usual, I was a late adopter of the smart phone technology and kept an older phone with no data plan for a long time.  I’m slightly anti-Apple, so I was thrilled when the Android phones hit the market, offering compelling alternatives.  When T got kicked off his family plan, I left mine, and we used a work discount to get a two phone data plan for about $100/month.  The phones themselves were free with contract.

Once you go there?  It’s so hard to go back!  The reasons I love my smart phone are obvious – the email, twitter, internet, and everything on the go.  Google Reader wherever I am, a GPS whenever I need it, and the answer to anything is always at my finger tips.

This week, my smart phone touch screen stopped working. in the center.  I cracked the screen a long time ago, but it was just  a single minor crack (not the usual spider crack) and it worked fine, so I lived with it.  I need to replace it.  Brand new phones are $200+, but I’m looking at used phones on ebay (in good condition with at least 30 day return policy).  It seems like I can get one for about $120-$140.

Ouch.  But I can’t imagine NOT replacing my phone. It is too hard to go back!

If you have a smart phone, how much did it cost?  What would you pay to replace it?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2011 6:58 am

    The prices you are looking at sound about right to me.

    Jordan paid $150 to have his screen replaced through a third party company in our city.

  2. October 19, 2011 7:17 am

    I had an Android for a year and just bought the iPhone 4s. My Android was extremely glitchy — freezing, slow, application shut-down, black screen, yada yada yada. It was glitchy from the moment I got it.

    the IPhone is SO much smoother — no freezing, extremely fast, no random vibrations and shutting down of apps. This is the only Apple product I own (aside from my 5 year old Nano that I use for running), so I’m not part of the cult, but this phone definitely makes me happier than my Android did. Don’t know how many calls I missed because my old Android would freeze up on me!

    Okay, rant over. I just really hate Android after the horrible year I spent with one.

    Anyways, I think the $199 for the iPhone is completely worth it! Or $99 for the older version!

    • October 19, 2011 7:34 am

      But that is with contract, right? I am not eligible for the deals that come with contract. I loved my android phone (until the touch screen failed) and really didn’t have any of the glitchy problems you describe.

      I do believe that the iphones are great – but I just… don’t like apple. I can’t really explain why, but I don’t think i can bring myself to buy one!

      • October 19, 2011 8:26 am

        Ohh, I see what you mean that you aren’t eligible for an upgrade.

        craigslist/ebay is prob your best bet! I know how you feel about Apple … but they’re just so awesome! haha. i’m probably going to turn into an obsessive apple user now 🙂

  3. October 19, 2011 7:20 am

    Well I got an iPhone 4S for $200. I replaced a 2/5 year old iPhone 3GS which I bought for $200. If you are thinking about Android phones, the new Samsung Nexus that came out yesterday would be a good buy (for $200 and a contract renewal) But you are right about how you can never go back after using a smart phone. Good luck!

    • October 19, 2011 7:35 am

      I think i will get an older phone since I can’t get the contract renewal prices. I’ll be in the market for an upgrade in about a year – but new phones are just WAY too expensive for me without the discount prices.

    • October 19, 2011 3:34 pm

      I’m a lot like Ella. I purchased my first iPhone almost 2 and a half years ago. I bought a 32 GB 3GS. Great phone. I’m not an Apple fan boy (I promise!), but I can only speak to my experience, and I have LOVED my iPhones. I now have a 4. The nice part about having an iPhone is that you can upgrade every couple of years for FREE because the iPhones hold their values so well. Plus, this year, I decided to buy a 4s for my wife and I for $400 per phone, and I turned around and sold them both for over $800 per.

      I have heard that Androids are great. So… just my 2 cents.

      Good luck!

      • October 19, 2011 6:24 pm

        Holding their value well doesn’t work out well for me, since if anything, I am interested in buying a used one! 🙂

  4. October 19, 2011 2:24 pm

    I have the iPhone 4, and if I lost it or broke it or needed to replace it for any other reason, i would shell out for a brand new unlocked one — and I would upgrade to 32GB instead of the 16GB I currently have.

    That would cost about $800, but swear to god, it’s worth every penny to me.

    My plan is about $65/mo though I’m thinking of dropping some features in the interest of lowering it.

    • October 19, 2011 6:25 pm

      So crazy! Krystal just paid about that to upgrade hers. I don’t know, it isn’t worth it to me, but I can see it really is to some people!

  5. October 19, 2011 7:10 pm

    I still have a dumb phone.

    BUT! This weekend! I’m getting a new phone! And I’m getting a smart phone!

    I’m 99% sure I’m going to cheap out and get an iPhone 3GS for free with my contract renewal, though. Hubby ordered a 4S, but I’m not sure I’m ready to shell out that much for a phone.

    Get back to me in a few months, though, and I might be willing to pay a little more, once I’ve actually experienced the awseomeness of having constant internet connection.

  6. October 19, 2011 8:33 pm

    I am a bit behind time when it comes to cell phones (smart phones specifically). I have a land line still and I like the fact that I am holding on to a bit of ‘traditionalism’ (I am trying to avoid the word ‘old fashion’). I am not tech savvy. I don’t feel the need (or important enough or want) to have people being able to reach me all the time. Friends have told that ‘you don’t have answer all the calls that come in all time’ (when owning a phone). But people expect you to! And what if you decided not to answer a call and it turned out be an emergency situation for the call that desperately needed your help. If that same call had come through my house phone and I wasn’t there to pick it, that was life…I wasn’t there. Sorry I’ve gone off rambling on my ‘dataless social network less cell phone plan’.

  7. October 20, 2011 4:12 am

    This is exactly why I don’t have a smart phone (yet!). I know that once I have one it will have to be a permanent line item in my budget, because there’s no way I’d have the discipline to go back. But I’m counting down the days until I can afford it because all of the features you talked about are making me drool!

  8. maddie permalink
    October 20, 2011 10:24 pm

    I too waited a long time to jump on the band wagon and can NEVER go back! My phone was free. I would have to replace it if anythinfg happens to it. Also its just easier to accept apple rules the tech world. There stuff is so BETTER QUALITY if I could I would get an iphone better then android market. I bet if u tried the iphone you would not be able to go back.

Leave a Reply

