Skip to content

Wallet Lost, Wallet Found!

October 20, 2011

Last weekend I went on a camping trip with my husband and two friends.  It was really exciting – our first overnight trip with friends.  (For some reason, it is really hard to find people who want to carry a pack into the wilderness and sleep there!)  We brought the best camping dinner we’ve ever had (T and I are lazy cooks when backpacking), and the mileage was really low compared to our usual trips.  It was really relaxing!  Except…

We stopped at Starbucks for coffee in a town on our way to the mountains.  I bought T and I a large latte to share (frugal tip – it is almost always cheaper to just split a beverage than to get two smalls), and we sat down for a minute before hitting the road again. When we got to the trailhead to start our hike, I moved my purse to a safe place and realized that my wallet was not in it.  I immediately knew I must have left it at Starbucks!

There was no cell service and there was no way we were going to drive back down the dirt road to civilization, so I brushed my worries off and we started our hike.  I was 90% sure that I had left it at the counter and that someone would turn it in and it would be safe.  I honestly wasn’t very worried.  At all.  The worst case scenario was that I’d have to replace my cards and driver’s license – a pain, but not horrible.

The next day we left the park and returned to civilization.  I called Starbucks once to ask if they had found it, and I lost the call before they responded.  Then I called again later, and they said the didn’t have it.  At that point, I called my credit card companies to cancel (and was relieved to know that there had been no fraudulent activity).  Since we were going through anyway, we stopped at Starbucks yet again, and I stopped in to give them a note with my name, number, and “pink wallet” on it so they would know how to contact me if it turned up.  The girl was a little snotty in her sympathy, saying  “Oh, you called this morning.  Yeah, we don’t have it.”

Five minutes down the road, my phone rang.  It was Starbucks!   They had my wallet after all.  It was in the safe all along.  They didn’t check there the first 3 times I asked about it?!?! What?!  And what if I hadn’t left my contact info, and just believed that they really didn’t have it?

Anyway, I got it back.  My cards were already canceled (what a pain in the butt!), but I avoided a trip to the DMV to replace my license and got everything back.  Whew!

Have you ever lost your wallet?  Did you get it back?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2011 7:24 am

    What a relief! I have never lost my wallet but I would find it SUCH a huge pain to replace all of my cards. I also have my passport and my health card in there, so I should actually probably take those out just in case.

    I’m glad you found it!

  2. Walnut permalink
    October 20, 2011 7:30 am

    I left my wallet, cell phone and entire purse on the chair in a Qdoba en route a family funeral. Qdoba found the purse, put it in the safe, and I would pick it up two days later on my way home. Meanwhile, my dog wandered away from the dog sitters and they couldn’t contact me because I didn’t have a phone. They finally got ahold of my boyfriend that evening to tell me my dog went missing. Fortunately, my dog is a huge pansy and decided to come home once it got chilly that night. They found her on the front step covered head to tow in cattle poo.

  3. October 20, 2011 8:33 am

    Been there done that multiple times! I once left my wallet on the bus and canceled all my credit cards. But they called back to say someone had turned it in. Once my wallet fell out of my purse when I was getting out of the car. This was in the parking lot of the apartment complex I had just moved into. The next day when I was getting into my car, there this guy who was getting into the car that was parked next to me and he was looking at me weirdly. He then tapped on the window said he had my wallet. Apparently he had opened my wallet and seen the pictures of Mike and me in the wallet and he was looking to see it was me. I hadn’t realized my wallet was gone, but I was so thankful to get it back.

    Glad you got your back.

  4. October 20, 2011 8:53 am

    Thankfully I have never done that! It sounds like more of an inconvenience than anything else in your case. At least nothing bad happened as far as fradulent activity, which is probably the most difficult thing to have to sort out in that circumstance.

  5. October 20, 2011 10:43 am

    I’ve never lost my wallet but once forgot my camera at McDonald’s. When I realized maybe 10 minutes later I went back and asked my cashier. She got all weird, called her supervisor and then went on break. The supervisor was snobby and basically laughed at me “You left your camera on the counter in *this neighbourhood*? Good luck!”

Leave a Reply

