Skip to content

Monday Updates

November 7, 2011

Time is going so fast.  Is it too early to start really looking forward to Christmas break?  Because I am. I know Thanksgiving comes first, but that’s only a 4-day weekend, and while we have some pretty awesome plans… they don’t include family.  Never mind that “family” includes a visit to the snowy and cold upper Midwest, I’m still excited about it!

I’ve had so much I wanted to write about on here, and most of it is even personal finance related.  But the words just won’t come out.

Work is going well, then not.  I don’t know if it is in my head or in reality, but one week I’ll come home thinking of how fast the time went and how well it is going.  The next I’ll just be tired and frustrated, then start plotting ways to do something new.  At any rate, I’m putting more some ideas in my own head of the types of assignments I will look for next.  Even if nothing changes, my role on this program probably won’t go beyond another year.  It’ll be time to move on, assuming there is something to move on to.

Life stuff is going OK.  I’m happy and content with how I’m spending my time, but neither T nor I have not been very social lately.  I’m just too wrapped up in my own stuff.  Maybe this is fine for now.  I got a step further on the volunteer organization I’m trying to help out with.  I’m not just trying to volunteer, but hoping to help them recruit volunteers at my company and form a little (if temporary) partnership.  But at minimum, I want to do it.

I think I’m training for the L.A. marathon.  I say “I think”, because I’m actually training for a 1/2 marathon (really soon), but I’m on track to start training for L.A. as soon as that is over.  There is just something addicting about those long runs!  I’m ready to do it again.  I think.  🙂

I’m kind of going vegetarian, more so than usual.  I’ve never been a big fan of meat, and I watched Forks Over Knives on streaming Netflix, and it pushed me over the edge.  I say “kind of” because I’m not fully committed.  So far, it really isn’t a huge difference, since I rarely cooked meat at home anyway.  I haven’t decided how serious I will be about it.  I think 90% vegetarian is probably a reasonable goal for now.  We are trying to eat mainly plant-based & whole grain food, because there are certainly a lot of unhealthy vegetarian foods.  Again, this isn’t a huge change, but it’s now more of a conscious decision.

So, that’s it.  Things are fast, busy, and mostly good, but I’m ready for a nice break!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2011 8:38 am

    Sounds like there’s a lot going on and that you’re handling things very well. Good work and keep up the great momentum!

  2. Stephanie permalink
    November 7, 2011 3:02 pm

    I would think it would be pretty hard to stay full when eating a healthy vegetarian diet. I don’t know if it’s just me, but if I eat fish/seafood I am full for maybe 3 hours. Then I am hungry again. I definitely don’t like beans enough to eat them as a regular source of protein. Nothing keeps you full like lean beef & chicken.

  3. November 9, 2011 11:09 am

    I’m very similar to you. I want to run a marathon and I’m also kind of being vegetarian lately, but not on purpose. Meat just kind of makes me sick lately.

Leave a Reply

