Skip to content

MacBook Air Purchased!

November 11, 2011

Quick follow-up:  Even though T wanted me to post about his computer, he thought I didn’t explain his situation accurately.  He almost never brings his laptop to campus, but this is mostly because it is heavy and inconvenient.   He only goes to campus 2-3 times a week, so it isn’t a big deal, but in all likelihood his next gig will also involve a campus (but also, a salary!).    That being said, I still think it is true that his old laptop meets his needs, and would continue to meet it for 6 months or more, and that was my point.

He bought the new MacBook Air!  He is happy with his purchase, and I am fine with it. Wss it worth an extra $500 or so to get the thinnest & lightest machine that still can run the software he needs?  (Similar PCs really are the same price.)  I don’t know, but really, he never buys anything and was due for an upgrade, and I honored his choice.  Some questions answered:

  • How are we paying for this? Cash, naturally.  And $125 in credit card rewards.
  • But where did the cash come from?  What else is it affecting?  Our emergency fund sits at $25k and our general savings has another $20k or so.  We are not currently saving for a down payment, car or baby.  Our future is unknown and I expect to aggressively save for those once T has a “real” job.    This money will come from some reimbursements he is due, so it won’t affect either account (except in that they would have had $2000 added instead of only $1000. ).  Between the two of us, we save over $2000 each month in retirement, not including matching.
  • What about black Friday deals?  Last year, the discount was $30.  They are already $60 cheaper at Amazon than the Apple store.
  • Can he give up something else to “make up for it” in the budget?  We don’t usually do purchases in this manner.  The answer is not really, because he doesn’t spend much money on anything.  And any cuts would affect me almost equally.  Maybe we can reduce restaurant spending for awhile.  Or alcohol.
  • Can his old laptop go towards the purchase?  It might be able to net $200 (optimistically).  Instead, he turned it into some sort of network sever manager device and now we have automatic back-ups to the 1 TB external hard drive had.  I’m really happy with this solution!
  • Will he get a new computer with his new job?  It is very unlikely.  If he does, then I get this new computer!  Or we can sell it.
  • Why not wait?  To be fair, he did wait 6 years.  It is one of those purchases you could ALWAYS put off another few months.  There is no good reason not to wait, but it seemed fair to get it now too.

Want to hear the funniest part?  He went on travel for a few days this week to the East coast.  H e was too nervous about taking his new laptop (“Because it is too new!  What if something happens to it?!) and took his old clunker laptop instead.  Ridiculous!  I think he’ll get over it once the computer has been around a few weeks!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Elizabeth permalink
    November 11, 2011 6:29 am

    That is really funny that he didn’t bring the new computer on his trip! Ah, he’ll get over that soon probably.

  2. November 11, 2011 11:39 am

    Oh yeah. He’ll get over it 🙂

    I find it super lightweight and easy to carry… It is a good purchase. I plan on keeping mine forever. All my plastic PCs have died within 2-3 years, but Macs? No way.

    • SP permalink*
      November 11, 2011 11:54 am

      Agree, he will!

      I can’t help but stick up for PCs. Mine is going on 4 years and his is 6 years old. Not dead! the trouble with PCs is there is a wide range of quality and cost to choose from, and if you choose wrong, you are screwed. “PCs” is such a wide net to cast while MAC really does refer to a single brand.

  3. serendipity permalink
    November 11, 2011 1:25 pm

    I like my PC but I’m not gonna lie, I do drool over MAC books and will probably be buying one for my next purchase. Rambo will probably be buying one after the first of the year since his computer is donzo. I came home and he was using mine for the first time ever.

  4. Karen permalink
    November 11, 2011 5:53 pm

    When my vehicle was brand new, I would always consider the drive because it was new and I didn’t want to add miles.
    My current PC is 7-8 years old. I just ordered a new one as I am running out of memory

  5. November 11, 2011 7:02 pm

    HA! That’s hilarious that he didn’t take it with him. I feel that way about my camera, and I’ve had it for over 3 years now. It’s a really nice dSLR Canon, and I’m always so nervous that it will get broken or stolen. I seriously almost bought a small, cheap digital camera to take on my trip to Cedar Point because of these concerns. I just have to remind myself that there was no point in spending the money if I’m not going to use it. But I’m sure he’ll get over that. 😉

  6. November 12, 2011 7:35 am

    I just got my new MacBook Pro this past week from the Apple Refurbished section of the their website. The savings and inventory can fluctuate day to day but usually savings are at least 15%. I think I saved 22%. I’ve had my white MacBook for about 5 years now and it’s been great after buying it refurbished too. I expect to sell it for $300-450, not too bad after 5 years of heavy use.

  7. November 14, 2011 6:42 pm

    Glad you mentioned why you chose to forgo the black friday deal. It is easy to forget that those deals are not always worth it. The amount people save by buying on black friday can be easily erased with one impulse purchase!

Trackbacks

  1. Yearly Goals « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

