Skip to content

Racing Love

November 14, 2011

I love racing.  So much! I did the Malibu Half Marathon over the weekend and despite not training as much, I got a PR by about a minute.  I’m hoping (perhaps wildly?) to shave almost 10 minutes off my time eventually, but I was still really happy with the race.  I felt like I gave it my best and crossed the line exhausted!

So, it is official.  I’m training for the Los Angeles Marathon in March.  My 18 week training plan starts TODAY!  With a rest day!  It’s much flatter than Big Sur with a net downhill, so I’m really hoping to improve my time!   I’ll have to take training seriously, including when I go home for a week over Christmas (can’t wait!).  I’m going to try doing some runs with local running groups to turn running into more of a social hobby.  We’ll see.  I do really like the “me time” of my long runs, but I think it’ll be easier to keep motivation with a group.

Upcoming costs:

  • Marathon Entrance Fee – $145
  • New shoes: ~$120
  • Energy foods:  ~$40 (Gus, powdered Gatorade, Shot Bloks)

I hate how expensive races are, but they give me such motivation!

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2011 7:30 pm

    My BF is doing that one too! You’re awesome, congrats again!

  2. November 15, 2011 9:15 pm

    Wow, I had no idea that participating in a marathon would cost that much!

    • November 15, 2011 9:19 pm

      Yup, they really do. Most marathons are about $125-$150… and for a t-shirt, medal, and course support? But a lot of them have trouble being profitable at all!

      It is a little crazy, but so motivating.

  3. November 15, 2011 9:36 pm

    I agree, I had no clue that entrance fees were that high!

Leave a Reply

