Skip to content

Kindle Love

December 5, 2011

My Kindle Touch arrived just before Thanksgiving!  I returned my old Kindle unopened and waited almost 2 months for the Touch to arrive, and finally, it showed up.  I am in love!   In fact, you could probably blame the new Kindle (at least a little bit) for my lack of posting lately.  Reading has been taking up much more of my time than writing.

I ended up getting the “with advertisements” version, since the ads are very unobtrusive .  They only show up when the device is powered off, never while you are reading.  I was hesitant, but with a $40 difference, I knew I couldn’t resist the discount.

I was really hesitant to get a Kindle because e-books all seem to be about $10 each.  In the past, I’d typically order some used books online for $3-$10 (including shipping).  Paying $10 every time seemed like a lot.   But so far, I’m really impressed with the selection and availability of e-books at my library.  Yay!

Aside from the library, I’m not impressed with the public domain free book selection in general, but there are a handful I’d like to read.  We also have a trial of Amazon Prime right now, so I have been able to get 1 free book a month from their lending library.  The lending library service alone isn’t worth getting Amazon Prime for, but if it is something you already have or would use for the other features, then it is a nice perk.

I’m super excited to take it home over Christmas and to have as many books as I want in my purse!  Is a Kindle Touch on your wish list this year?  Or are you staying old-school with paperbacks?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. pinchofthis permalink
    December 5, 2011 9:40 am

    It’s absolutely on my wish list this year! I’m excited to read your review of it. I also asked for the one with the ads so I’m happy to hear that they are not obtrusive.

    I scoped out the e-book selection at my local library when I was doing my research and was pleasantly surprised.

    So happy I took the last week of December off….I can bury my nose in new books!

  2. December 5, 2011 3:41 pm

    I have a Kindle Touch and I love it! My previous version was a 2nd gen and I definitely love this upgrade. I read so much more now (even though I used to read a lot).

  3. December 5, 2011 6:10 pm

    I just got one the other week too. Already started a book from the library and one of the free public domain books. I also just got a new Macbook but I think the Kindle Touch is the cooler gadget. And what a deal at $99! I can’t imagine missing real books, or having my kids pull out my bookmark.

  4. December 6, 2011 11:35 am

    My husband bought me a kindle touch for my birthday last month and I’m also in love. I actually have the exact same one as you. I’m basically relying on my library and buying books if they are under $5. Now that I have it I don’t mind when my husband watches football and it fits in my smallest purse!

  5. December 7, 2011 4:34 pm

    The public domain options are really lacking, I agree. For a couple of them that I’ve download and opened, the scanning quality was really bad, to the extent that some pages were missing and/or I could only see half a page. Also, the scanner they use sometimes mixes up letters, which makes it more difficult yet.

  6. December 7, 2011 6:19 pm

    I got a Kindle Fire but then traded it in for a Kindle Touch. I love it! In fact, I call it the Magic Book because it’s the size of one small notebook but holds thousands of books. 🙂 The only I do not love is how expensive the accessories are. I bought a canvas cover and it cost me almost $40. That’s 40% of the cost of the Touch!!

  7. December 9, 2011 11:47 am

    I absolutely love my kindle. I have found my love for reading as been refreshed with the ease and ability to carry and use my kindle anywhere. I love that books are so easy to buy and get on my kindle. Our closest bookstore is a 2 hour drive, so the convenience of the ebooks is really appealing to me. My daughter now has one and loves that she can take her books with her anywhere she happens to go. It is great that you can have all your books at your fingertips and only have to carry around a item the size of a small notebook.

Leave a Reply

