Skip to content

Year End Evaluations

December 14, 2011

The end of the calendar year is when my company does performance reviews.  Mine went exceptionally well.  I walked out wondering if I am a bit too entitled (as our generation is known to be), because my first thought was “Yes, as it should be” when I saw my ratings.

It’s common for women to underestimate themselves, and I do it too.  I have a “it’s not big deal” attitude towards what I do at work, because I’m just doing my job the best way I know how.  And isn’t that what anyone would do?  I mean, I do advertise my accomplishments, but sometimes, deep down I feel like it’s all a facade.  Sometimes.  Sometimes I feel like I do way more work than some of the senior people.

The raise associated with the reviews is still a couple months out.  My promotion is still under debate (as are all in SoCal).  If it doesn’t go through… well, I think I’m going to have to be done being patient.  I mean really.  It is ridiculous, and my manager (and his manager) agree.  Anyway, word was promised by the end of the year.  This could be a great Christmas present, or it could just piss me off!

Right now, the company is counting on the fact that jobs are hard to find and the employees have little bargaining power.  If you aren’t willing to move, then yes, jobs are hard (but not impossible) to find in this economy.  But they are missing two things.  First, someday the job market will improve.  And all of us will remember how they treated everyone, even if we weren’t affected by it.  Second, some of us younger and motivated people… some of us might be willing to move.

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2011 8:31 am

    I don’t think the “Yes, as it should be” was an entitled thing. I thought the same thing because I know I’ve worked hard this year and worked at improving the things they asked me to improve as I’m sure you’ve done as well.

  2. tom permalink
    December 14, 2011 8:48 am

    I hear Charleston is giving away money by the truckload to anyone who’s willing to come there. Rumors are that dump trucks full of money are driving around to houses…

    But seriously, you are 100% correct.

    The system can screw you again w/ your raise if you don’t get your promotion if you are over your market salary reference. In other words, you are over paid for your level, regardless of how well you perform. The system looks at your IPA, your salary/market ratio, and the overall salary pool. The IPA and market ratio determine the size of your raise – large or medium and the salary pool determines the $ value.

    • December 15, 2011 8:00 am

      I fixed it!

      I think managers are able to tweak the numbers, right? But it does mean taking away from others. Anyway, I’ll be beyond shocked if it doesn’t go through, because I was already shocked last year. It’s really ridiculous.

      • tom permalink
        December 15, 2011 11:57 am

        Thanks!

        Also, they do have latitude to adjust, but you are correct, it takes away from others. I feel bad for management, at least first levels, in these decisions…

        I agree with you though, it would be absolutely ridiculous.

        Also, a huge congrats on the new job! That should definitely be another big reason why you should get the promotion. Lateral moves (that’s what it is right?) are so awesome, you gain a lot of experience w/o the headache of the whole HR process. Project management is an excellent skill to grow, and opens a lot of doors, both in technical and management.

        Best of luck with the new job and w/ the promotion process.

  3. December 14, 2011 11:03 am

    I agree with you that jobs are hard to find, but from my experience, that has not really been the case. Me and all my friends have switched jobs in the last year, and done so relatively easily. I think you’re in engineering of some sort? While the overall market could be so-so to poor, the market in your area for your job could be booming. It may be easier than you think to find a new job with more responsibility and better pay.

    • SP permalink*
      December 14, 2011 11:51 am

      I did apply to a handful of new jobs about 6 months ago, with no luck. But they were kind of “reach” jobs, not quite in the area where I have the most experience. And I probably only applied to 3 or so, so the search was half-hearted. For now, I’m pursuing an internal opportunity, but the money stuff won’t necessarily come with it. The local market in my industry is not good (possible, but difficult, to switch) but we’ll see. If I were aggressive, I’m sure I could get more money, but I’d have to leave behind everything that I do like about my current job.

      Anyway, for some personal reasons, I’m waiting a few months to see how things shake out. But a new job is definitely an option!

  4. December 14, 2011 11:45 am

    I found that after my raise debacle I had to start looking for jobs. I’ve been picky and maybe only applied to 15-20 since October, and I’ve barely heard back. But honestly, searching elsewhere is the only thing keeping me sane. If they can’t appreciate me here I have to keep looking until I find a place that does.

    • December 15, 2011 8:01 am

      Good luck! I think when you have a stable job, you have a right to be picky.

  5. December 14, 2011 6:37 pm

    I definitely don’t think you sound “entitled.” You’re working hard for that evaluation! Entitlement, to me at least, is thinking you deserve good reviews and a raise without all the extra work going into it. “I deserve these things because I’m a college grad, and I’m not doing BAD work” kind of thing.

    I hope you get your promotion (finally)!

  6. December 14, 2011 9:10 pm

    Good job on the good review. And I know what you mean, the people who are treated badly, will remember how they were treated when the economy improves.

Leave a Reply

