Skip to content

New Job!

December 15, 2011

I haven’t wanted to mention this here until I had talked about it with my manager.  I’m getting a new job!  At my same company!

More visibility. A smaller team.  A chance to do the technical side and grow into the project management side.  A chance to work with some new talented people.  An opportunity to be exposed to a lot of different groups, internal and external.  It really seems tailored for me.  I certainly have no skills to be running a project of any size, but I definitely have the desire and aptitude to learn.  I don’t want to leave the technical area, but I want more autonomy, while still having people I can look up to.

Basically, it’s a like promotion, except without the money.  The money portion is important, but like many in my generation, I’m also very motivated by a chance to make a difference, new challenges and new responsibilities.  Half of my work related wish list for 2012 seems like it is going to come true!  And I”m pretty confident the other 1/2 will come through.

My manager was thrilled and thought it was a great opportunity.  My program leads… well, they’ll be a little frustrated, but deep down, they might be happy for me.  Or just annoyed that they have to find someone else to do my current job. But my manager said that it isn’t their decisions and was very supportive.

How did it happen?  Networking.  I consider myself a pretty horrible networker.  Even those I have a good working relationship with, I never know what to talk about besides work stuff.  But I try.I go to mentoring meetings once a month with a senior person at our company.  After one of them, I talked to another girl in the group about her area.  Then I talked to someone else, then to someone else… Finally, I was informally offered the new role.

This is a wee bit premature.  The “transition plan” hasn’t been worked.  I may not start full time until March.  Still, I”m very excited!  What a great way to end the year.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2011 8:35 am

    Congrats! Sounds like it will give you new energy and hopefully plenty of opportunities down the road!

  2. December 15, 2011 9:56 am

    Fantastic news to start the new year! I’m sure March will come soon enough.

  3. December 15, 2011 10:46 am

    Wow 🙂 That sounds exciting. I’m glad you got it!

  4. December 15, 2011 11:11 am

    Congratulations! Sounds exciting.

  5. tom permalink
    December 15, 2011 11:59 am

    Congrats and good luck (not that you’ll need it!

    Sounds like an excellent opportunity to grow and gain more skills, especially skills that will make you more marketable!

  6. December 15, 2011 1:33 pm

    Congrats! That is really great news!

  7. December 15, 2011 1:40 pm

    Congrats!

  8. December 15, 2011 3:23 pm

    Congrats – look like the search paid off.

  9. December 15, 2011 3:57 pm

    Congratulations! It sounds like you’re very excited about the new position. I’m happy for you! 🙂 Well deserved!

  10. December 15, 2011 6:42 pm

    Congrats! That certainly is a good way to end the year. Best of luck with the new job!

  11. Karen permalink
    December 15, 2011 8:44 pm

    Congrats! Sounds like a great new opportunity!

  12. El Cheapo permalink
    December 17, 2011 11:20 am

    Congrats SP!!!

  13. December 18, 2011 1:48 pm

    Congrats again!! 🙂

  14. December 19, 2011 9:40 am

    Congrats!! I know how long you’ve been fristrated at work with lack of promotion/raise – and this is definitely long overdue for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

