Skip to content

Merry Christmas to Me

December 19, 2011

I never said I was patient.

If I had waited a few days, I could have summed up my year end career stuff in a single post.  I did get the promotion I was whining about (pretty much all year long).  Yay!  They said of the 50 in the department that were submitted for a promotion (i.e. someone 2 levels up from their boss agreed they should be promoted) only 18 were approved.  I think that ratio is better than last year, but still.  A bunch of people probably deserved a promotion and didn’t get one.  Even though I got mine, it is still frustrating.

The new job and the promotion are not tied together.  However, the new job will help a lot with the NEXT promotion, which I’m determined will be LESS overdue than this one.  As excited as I am about it, the details of the new job aren’t set in stone.  It’s an internal R&D project, so the level of funding is not certain.  We haven’t worked out my transition plan with my old boss and new bosses.  Still, I’m optomistic that it will work out.  If something goes wrong, they seemed confident they would have something else for me.  Maybe not something as ideal, but new challenges at the very least.

So, yay.  Now I can quit thinking about work for the rest of the year and quit posting about work until I have something new to say.  Except for those 3 days when I have to BE at work.  🙂  But seriously, my entire wish list for my career came true this year, and I’m really really happy about it.

Besides work, the rest of my time has been dedicated to Christmas shopping (still not quite done) and running.  I’ve been doing AMAZING with my training plan.  I haven’t skipped a single mile yet, and just finished a 42 mile week.  Next week is a “recovery” week and I’ll reduce my mileage a bit, and boy am I excited!  And since it is the holidays, I just might miss a run or two, and that is OK.

I’m super excited to go home and spend some time with my family and relax.  Three more days of work!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. tom permalink
    December 19, 2011 9:43 am

    Awesome!!

    Congratulations!

  2. December 19, 2011 12:36 pm

    Excellent news! Great way to end the new year!

  3. December 19, 2011 11:33 pm

    Those 3 days at work will fly by! Glad to hear all the great news, here’s to 2012!

  4. December 20, 2011 8:52 am

    Congrats again! You were definitely overdue, but it looks you’re they’re finally getting you caught up.

    And congrats on the new job!

    Have a great holiday!

Leave a Reply

