Skip to content

Some Data Points from 2011

January 16, 2012

I don’t know about you, but there was a time when I was absolutely fascinated by other people’s financial spending data.  I’m going to share  some of my spending information from 2011.

There are a few caveats.  I’m getting this information from Yodlee, which means (for example) if we paid $500 for a group cave tour and everyone paid us back, Yodlee still thinks we spent $500 for that because I didn’t do something special to correct it.  It also neglects some of T’s spending , though aside from rent (which I included), his spending on his personal card is quite low.  I also wasn’t diligent about categorizing gifts, so if I bought a shirt for a gift, it probably just showed up under clothes.  And most of my Amazon.com spending is thrown in to “hobbies”, because I didn’t categorize it as we went.

ANYWAY, here is approximately what we ended up spending in 2011, in order.

  • New Car – $26,300 (with registration, taxes, etc.) for a new VW Golf  TDI
  • Rent – $19,000 for a one bedroom half a block from the beach
  • Travel – $7,000 (mostly euorpe, but also backpacking and trips home).  This number is highly questionable but in the right ballpark at least
  • Groceries – $5,400 Includes alcohol and various household supplies
  • Restaurants – $3,500
  • Insurance – $1,900 mostly car ($1400) but also renters/jewelery
  • Student Loan Payments:  $1,500
  • Hobbies – $1,400 (includes gym, race fees, running shoes, amazon purchases)
  • Fuel (diesel)– $1,400
  • Entertainment – $1,200 (includes a kindle, amazon purchases that I think were books, tickets to various events, bar nights)
  • Electronics – $1,200 for T’s new computer!
  • Clothing – $1,100
  • Personal Care – $900 Hair, eyebrows,  nails, Sephora
  • Netflix/Internet – $620
  • Car Expenses – $400 (mostly dent repair)
  • Gifts – $400 (as mentioned above, this is much lower than it really was)

The rest of the categories were <$300 each, plus some cash spending that I have no idea what it went to.

Needless to say, this is not as accurate as I would it to be.  This is why I’m committed to tracking my spending for 2012!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2012 3:32 pm

    I didn’t keep track of how much we spent last year… and I’m not sure I want to know. With wedding expenses, everything (especially clothing) went out of whack. By the way, did you know that your ad is showing Banana Republic at 30% off? Nooooo temptation! 🙂

  2. January 18, 2012 9:21 am

    That is so awesome that you bought a VW Golf TDI, such a sweet car! That one was originally on the top of my list.

    Good luck with actually tracking your spending this year! 🙂 Something I did to help me is to count all cash spending as Entertainment and not track it once it leaves my pocket. Occasionally I will re-reconcile the tracking if I used it for something like renewing my driver’s license, but most of the time, it’s counted as pending when it’s gone.

    I’ve actually been tracking my data since I was 16, so I have some pretty good data at this point. It’s so motivating to go back and see how I saved 80% of my paychecks when I was 16. I think it’ll take quite a few raises and/or some huge bonuses before I get to that point now.

Leave a Reply

