Skip to content

Shopping Ban

January 20, 2012

I have never participated in a shopping ban before, but I think I’m going to start one now.

What brings this on?  I want to increase our savings rate AND I just did a little bit of a January wardrobe refresh to the tune of… well, more than I want to say here.  So that’s saying something!  About half of the purchases were boring & necessary replacement of work wardrobe essentials, and the rest was just some fun stuff.

Here’s the rules:

  • No new clothes until I’ve worn (or donated) everything in my closet (excluding formal dresses & business suits) – credit to Paranoid Asteroid for the idea!
  • Personal care items are limited as well.  Allowed haircuts,  replacement cosmetics only, and general grooming upkeep (occasional eyebrows and nail clean up)… but no gel manicures, no fun new make-ups, etc.  This isn’t a usually a big deal for me, but I don’t want to cut one area only to ramp up another.

That’s it.  We are trying to cut back on eating out as well, but no specific rules on that yet.

To keep things more fun, I’ve also been taking daily photos of my outfits.  If I do it right, I should end up with a photo of everything I own!  These are for private use only – sorry guys!  (Not that I really think anyone is disappointed!)  It not only gives me a glance at my wardrobe, but it also lets me see how crappy my hair looks and such.  I’m hoping this will help me to improve.  🙂  But really, I promise, I’m booking a trim tomorrow!

Have you done shopping bans?  Do you find them effective?  Or do you just budget carefully year round with no need to ban?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2012 6:57 am

    I’ve done a shopping ban in January 2011 and it definitely saved me a lot of money. When I looked at my Mint.com monthly summary, I didn’t spend much at all that month – mine was very effective. I have to be motivated for them to work, though. Good luck!!

  2. SWR permalink
    January 20, 2012 7:43 am

    I love the idea of making it continue until you wear/donate all of your clothes. You’ll probably come out of this not only with the extra money but also a keen sense of what kinds of clothes you actually wear and need.

  3. January 20, 2012 9:43 am

    I’m on a shopping fast right now. It can be hard, but as long as you don’t beat yourself up for your mistakes. Even though I slipped a little this month, I’m still in a better place at this point in the month then I’ve been for a while. Good luck!

    ps- I love the idea of taking a picture of your outfits everyday!

    • January 22, 2012 5:59 pm

      I saw it in someones link round up – it’s really pretty easy with smart phones and automatic uploads to a flikr account. I’m not super into fashion or ever intend on sharing them, but it will at least give me a visual of what works in reality and what only really works in my head

  4. January 20, 2012 11:58 am

    I’ve never done one but I’m thinking I need to! I’d ban clothing along with house stuff – no new pots and pans, cups, silverware, art, accent pillows, etc…

  5. January 20, 2012 10:07 pm

    I’ve never done one but we have very limited shopping in my town so its not hard. I just need to ban going to a bigger city about 30 minutes away. Haha! You can understand that.

    • January 22, 2012 5:56 pm

      There is tons of shopping here, but honestly, I love the convenience of online. 😉

  6. January 22, 2012 11:57 am

    Thanks for the link!

    Good luck on your ban – it’s completely frustrating, but so helpful. I also like the idea of limiting other personal purchases – I’m not one to find an outlet in makeup or hairstyle stuff, but who knows how I feel once month 2 rolls around?

    • January 22, 2012 5:54 pm

      I like sephora as a fun (but expensive) place to experiment, though definitely not hairstyles, as one could probably tell if they saw my hair any time in the last month or two… FB just posted about this expensive facial scrubber brush that my sister and mom also rave about – so I guess it’s things like that.

      Thanks for the good luck, I have a feeling i will need it. 🙂

  7. January 24, 2012 3:15 pm

    I’m disappointed slightly.. I wanted to see your outfits 🙂 But that’s just a personal desire of a fashion fanatic.

    Get samples from Sephora if you can, rather than buying the item. It’s more fun to get 50 samples of new face whatevers, than to waste $100 on something that won’t work

    Or befriend beauty bloggers in your local area LOL!! They usually have a ton of swag 😛

    • SP permalink*
      January 24, 2012 5:08 pm

      oh trust me, they aren’t super fashionable or anything. Otherwise maybe I’d be more inclined to share. Basically, they are work dress pants, some sort of top, and a cardigan 🙂

      I do like sephora samples – but this recommendation is coming from the blogger who just posted about a new $100+ facial scubber thing and also has been touting the $50 Naked/Naked2 eyeshadows for sometime (both on my wish list!) 🙂 So… you are still hurting me more than helping! (only teasing, btw)

  8. January 27, 2012 11:36 am

    As a formal Sephora/high-end beauty product junkie, i would also suggest looking into drugstore products. I think there are tons of high-quality products out there nowadays. I am using an Olay product and for me it’s been as effective as Murad and DDF. Just a thought if you ever need/want to save money.

    • January 31, 2012 8:45 am

      I used to use drug store products – but I really haven’t in awhile. It’s so hard to choose products!

  9. January 28, 2012 11:38 am

    I generally tried shopping bans while I was in college, but they were SO NOT effective at all. It would work for the first 3/4 of the semester while I was so crazy busy that I didn’t have time to go shopping and then I would spend a few hundred dollars after all of my classes were done and I was bored waiting to write finals.

    Now, I come up with an accurate estimate of what I should buy in terms of clothing for the year and plan on that. I find that limiting myself just makes me want to spend more, so this way is more cost effective and makes me feel far less guilty…

Leave a Reply

