Skip to content

Case of the Mondays: Setting myself up for a good week

January 23, 2012

Mondays can set the tone for my whole work week.  This is especially true when I’m training for a race – I just pulled the trigger and shelled out the big bucks for the LA marathon!  Monday is always a rest day for me, and often one of just 2 weeknights I’m not spending time in the gym.

Each Monday for the next 4 Mondays (including this one), I’m going to put the following things at the top of my list

  • Write down goals & plans for the work week, as best as I know them
  • Write down goals & plans for any personal commitments
  • Copy my online running schedule into my notebook (so I can access it anywhere)
  • Make sure we have enough food for dinner and lunches – ideally, we’d already have gone grocery shopping over the weekend.  But if not, it really should happen on Monday.
  • Take 5-10 minutes to reconcile spending tracking with online transactions
  • Do strength and/or core work

Nothing here is that urgent or time consuming, but if I put it all together, I have laid the foundation for a good week.  The food one is the biggest one, but it all adds up.

What do you do to stay organized and keep your weeks from getting out of control?  Anything important missing on my Monday Must Do list?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2012 11:42 am

    That’s an awesome idea! Monday used to be my rest day, but I switched that to Tuesday.

    I try to write down my goals for the next work day before leaving, so that I already have my to do list written up when I get into work in the morning. I have found that that results in less procrastination time 😉

    For chores, I sit down on Sunday and plan my chores around my sports, social activities, and proposed work schedule. I can’t always get everything done, but that’s okay – it just means it is more of a priority the following week!

    I also try to cook enough food for the entire week on Sunday night. So far, this seems cost-effective, saves me time, and also reduces my hunger-induced anxiety.

Trackbacks

  1. A catching up and cookery Sunday | A Gai Shan Life

Leave a Reply

