Skip to content

New Eyeglasses Fiasco

February 4, 2012

My eyeglasses vanished over the holiday break.  This wasn’t a huge loss since I badly needed an updated prescription anyway, and the frames were not great either.

I went into my eye doctor on a Saturday and picked out some frames.  There was something odd with my insurance, so we were told they’d call the insurance Monday and then figure it out.  I called my insurance myself (as I hadn’t heard from the doctor after a few days) and found out they just needed a manual override.  I went in the next weekend to buy the frames I had chosen.  I discovered they had been sold to someone else (even though he put them in my file and physically took them off the shelf).  I sighed, said they could order them, and was told it would be about a week.

Forever later (much more than a week),  after multiple calls from me to them, my frames came in.   (They never called me when they said they would!)  I happened to have an appointment nearby that day, so I rushed in and picked them up and paid.  It was only when I got home later that I realized… they were the wrong color.  Completely.

To be fair, they had two shades of blue: navy and a light grey-blue color.  Over the phone I had just confirmed I wanted blue.  As in, the blue frames I had tried on, clearly!   (And that had matched my eyes!  My eyes are not navy!)  I wasn’t aware there was another blue, and apparently his catalog no longer showed the lighter blue.

Annoyed, I called again to complain.  My bargaining position is low, since I have already paid for these.  They agreed to try to get the light blue, but he clearly did not believe that I had tried on a different color.  He said that sometimes the batches of plastic have slight deviations in the shade.  He brought this up like 3-4 times in our conversation, and I kept saying that it was not a deviation.  It was an entirely different color.  (I found the two shades with different names on the internets.  They are not even close to the same.)  I could tell he thought I was wrong, even when the conversation ended.

So now I’m waiting.  I sent them a link to the frames I found online.  Taking into consideration insurance, I could buy these “out-of-network” for about $67.  The frames I bought in their store cost me about the same (since they are priced much higher).  I’m not sure if you can actually return frames and get your insurance back, so I’m hoping they will somehow order them for me (from the internet) and just exchange them for me.  I mean, really, I don’t care, I just want the frames I had tried on.  I’m also sure I won’t hear back from them until I call them myself.

I’m so annoyed at the customer service.  They are the nicest people I’ve worked with in a doctor’s office, but this isn’t the first time they have been disorganized (definitely the worst).  I only replace my eyeglasses once ever 2-3+ years, so it i important for me to get what I want.

Stay tuned for a follow-up post in which they somehow redeem themselves.  I hope that happens!  I really don’t want to find a new eye doctor.  These people are close to my apartment and open Saturday mornings.  And nice.  But seriously.  This has been ridiculous!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Nick permalink
    February 5, 2012 6:37 am

    Have you ever tried Eye Buy Direct? Just get your prescription from your eye doctor, enter it online, and pick whatever frames you want. They have B1G1’s pretty much every couple months. That’s where my wife’s been getting her glasses the last 3-4 years. They’re a tad slow to get it all mailed out and stuff, but if there’s a problem, they’re actually pretty quick to fix it.

  2. February 5, 2012 8:38 am

    Ugh. My insurance didn’t cover eyeglasses so I bought some online through ebay. It was fine but I don’t think I’d do it again. The next time might lead me to look around locally for some good deals.

  3. February 5, 2012 9:25 am

    Ugh, I do hate terrible service. Even if they were nice I think after this is all taken care of I would write this all down in a nice letter and send it to the office. Not all their customers will be as patient as you – the office manager needs to know about this.

    • February 9, 2012 8:04 am

      This is a really small shop, and besides the doctor and the guy I’ve been working with, i’m not sure who else would care. Hmph.

      And I’m not totally patient, just passive-aggressive patient. 🙂

  4. February 5, 2012 9:33 am

    This reminds me that I need to go in for a new pair myself. Last time my wife got a pair it was a headache too, sounding similar to your experience. Not looking forward to it…

  5. belowhermeans permalink
    February 5, 2012 4:26 pm

    Can I recommend warbyparker.com? Try on at home for free, $95 for frames and lenses + they donate a pair to someone in need for every pair bought. Love them.

  6. February 7, 2012 12:47 pm

    Give ’em hell. I hate it when front-line employees try to make you feel bad for complaining. Just do your job right. Eyeglasses are expensive: it’s not out of bounds to expect the pair your asked for.

    • February 9, 2012 8:04 am

      No kidding. He just doesn’t really believe I tried on a different color at all. Ug. Will be going in this weekend!

Leave a Reply

