Skip to content

President’s Day Weekend in NorCal

February 22, 2012

My weekend was amazing and exhausting, probably my favorite combination.  I love trying out new things and I love pushing my body physically – both of which happened this past weekend.  There is something about physical exhaustion that brings mental peace & calmness.

I visited a friend in NorCal and our 3-day weekend consisted of:
Day 1: 20 mile run & dinner in old town Sacramento – marathon training!
Day 2:  My first snowboarding lesson at a Tahoe area resort
Day 3:  My first time snowshoeing at a trail near a different Tahoe area resort

Also some food and movies and relaxing.  It was so much fun to play in the snow and try some new sports!  It was also amazing to have someone to do my long run with me.  We ran a nice big mostly flat loop along a river/lake area.  The weather was perfect – cool & cloudy – and the scenery was new.  And mountains?  I love mountains so much.

Tahoe Trip Costs Breakdown:
$210 flight (bought last month)
$50 gas money
$100 ski day (lesson, rental, lift ticket)
$60 food (we ate at home a lot, but went out for one “real” meal and ate twice at ski lodges)
$15 snowshoe rental
$15 movie
TOTAL: $450

This is about $50 more than I originally guessed, but I didn’t originally plan on snowboarding – so I’m calling that a win!  Snowboarding was really fun!   I’m definitely going to be trying it a few more times.  Since I don’t really know what I’m doing yet, we’ll probably just go to Big Bear – somewhere small and close.

Little weekend getaways are a lot of fun and it was a really nice break from the busy work & running routine I’ve been in most of this year!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2012 9:16 am

    Just reading what you did, makes me feel flabby and unfit… 🙂

    Glad you had such a great time!

  2. February 22, 2012 9:35 am

    That sounds like a lot of fun! I love athletic vacations too 🙂

  3. February 28, 2012 6:39 pm

    Congrats on the 20 mile run! I finished the Hypothermic Half Marathon here in Montreal last week – it was chilly, but invigorating! So glad to say I’ve “been there, done that!”.

    Rosie

Leave a Reply

