Skip to content

Net Worth Milestone

March 2, 2012

I don’t do monthly net worth blog posts anymore, but I do still track it (most months).  We hit a milestone this month, so I decided to share.

One of my original blog goals was, arbitrarily, “Have $100k networth by the time I’m 30.”  I’m not sure when, but I hit this sooner than 30, just  before T and I merged our monies about a year ago.  Except, when we merged our money, our combined net worth was not $200k, and there now two of us… Therefore,  I mentally set a new goal.  “Have $200k joing net worth by the time I’m 30 and T is 28.”

And here we are!

Cash – $51,832:  This is split between a lot of funds and accounts, and is reduced by any balance on our credit cards (since we use those as cash substitutes).  In general, the funds are split up as:

  • Efund – $25,000
  • Long Term Savings – $19,000
  • Short Term Savings / Checking / Credit Cards-  $7,832

The long term savings is earmarked for a long vacation before T starts a “real job” and also, a car for him should he need one.  Anything left will be a house fund.  Short term savings is money we might spend in the near term bills or vacation or whatever.   T gets paid quarterly (for now), so he likes to have a rather large cushion in this account.

Retirement Savings – $147,947:  This is mostly in my retirement accounts since T is only funding his Roth IRA for now.

Car – $19,000:  We count this mostly because I didn’t want to count a large drop when we bought it.  The estimate is a conservative one.  We take 80% of the Kelly Blue Book value and use that.

SP’s student loan – $15,100: Ah, the student loan.  Every time I start to think about prioritizing this, I change my mind.  It just doesn’t bother me…

TOTAL JOINT NET WORTH –  $203,679

So there you go.  We’re making pretty good progress (thanks S&P 500 for not tanking us!), and despite some non-ideal living situations planned for this year, I think 2012 will be an pretty great year.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2012 8:54 am

    Wow I’m incredibly jealous.

  2. March 2, 2012 10:19 am

    Wow, congrats! That retirement accounts balance is quite pretty on its own too.

  3. March 2, 2012 3:45 pm

    I had the same goal. Congratulations!!!! 🙂 This is so exciting.

  4. March 2, 2012 7:54 pm

    Great job! There’s a lot of hard work and dedication in that number. Good for both of you!

  5. March 4, 2012 3:25 am

    Awesome job! That’s a nice number to be on! 🙂

  6. March 5, 2012 6:33 am

    Wow, great numbers! Congratulations!

Trackbacks

  1. Money in my 20s « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

