Skip to content

Confessions of a Bad PF blogger: I Want an iPad

March 13, 2012

I almost didn’t write this post.  You know how when you want something, and you start thinking about it, then you start talking about it… you only want it MORE?  So, this is a dangerous post to write.  The things I do for my blog readers…

A lot of people I know got iPads for Christmas.  I got my Kindle Touch, so I wasn’t interested.  It is basically just a giant WiFi-only smart phone.  (I know you can get data plans, but I wouldn’t).  I had an e-reader.  I read my blogs on my regular laptop.  And half of my internet-ing is WRITING, so how would an Ipad work out for me.

It was actually T’s idea.  He told me that he saw somewhere that people would put recipes on them and stick them to the wall of the kitchen while they were cooking.  “Yeah, but for $500?!  That’s an expensive cookbook.”

The truth is, I really want a new lightweight laptop.  I’m not getting one.  I have no justification for it, mine is working (mostly) fine, and lightweight laptops are pricey.  An iPad would meet the desire of a lightweight travel computer.  I’d probably get a keyboard attachment to complete the package.  Although, no one seems to do this – is there a reason?  Or am I the only one who “needs” to be able to write?

Anyway, I’m not getting one…. yet.  But I think we’ll get one in the next couple months.T has a macbook, so we’ll be able to use FaceTime (superior to trying to set up a webcam), and we’ll be doing lots of traveling back and forth to see each other.  It wouldn’t be the worst way to spend $400.

What about you?  Do you have an iPad?  Do you want one?

33 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2012 7:54 am

    I don’t have an ipad and I don’t plan to purchase one anytime soon because I feel like it would just turn into one giant time suck for me (hello, apps!), but I also am intrigued by this recipe/cookbook idea…haha.

    I think what’s most important here is that you’re not making any rash decisions. Look over your budget, make a plan to save the money, and figure out some concrete reasons why you want one. Then if everything checks out, I’d say go for it (and tell me about the kitchen usage…ha!).

  2. March 13, 2012 8:05 am

    No one has a keyboard on it because it doesn’t have your office software you’d use if you were actually doing serious writing.

    It’s good for streaming movies or just surfing the Internet.

    It’s a pain for any kind of writing, including emails, including with the keyboard. Remember all those guys who showed up at meeting with these right when they came out with the keyboards? They’ve given up too.

    • March 14, 2012 7:28 am

      Interesting. Most of my “serious” writing is browser based. And it isn’t serious. I just like to be able to write (i.e. blog).

  3. chitown permalink
    March 13, 2012 8:10 am

    Yes!!!!

  4. March 13, 2012 8:20 am

    I don’t have one, yet… I want one though!

  5. March 13, 2012 8:22 am

    That’s funny because I have an iPad but am wondering if Kindle Touch would have been a better option for me. I always have to travel with a laptop for work and I find my eyes too tired to read ebooks off of the bright iPad screen. I am only debating on it right now because I don’t want to go gadget overload.

    As for your question on a separate keyboard, I don’t have a keyboard to go with my iPad but that has never stopped me from being able to write. I find that the touch pad works fairly well and it only reduces my typing speed ever so slightly.

  6. March 13, 2012 8:46 am

    I don’t have one or want one, BUT if you know you’d get a lot of use out of yours, why not? My mom has one and loves it, as do most of the other people I know who have one. I don’t think I would get much more use out of it than I do my smart phone, but that’s just me.

  7. March 13, 2012 9:03 am

    meh. no thanks 😀 I have my nook for reading, and my laptop for surfing the web in front of the tv. I’ve played with the kindle fire and the ipad and they don’t have enough processing power to load things quickly enough for me – I get frustrated by the slow response times and give up using them, even for simple searches and basic web surfing.

  8. March 13, 2012 9:10 am

    I saved up and bought one for my hubby’s birthday in February. He uses it mostly for Internet surfing, checking surf/weather reports, and watching videos – in other words, just for fun – but he really loves it and uses it daily. I’d really like to have one too (I see myself using it also for Internet usage – reading more than writing blogs; and entertainment) but it’s not an immediate need so I don’t see myself purchasing it anytime soon. However, I don’t think wanting an iPad makes you a bad PF blogger – maybe a bad PF blogger if you rushed out and charged it without being able to pay it off!! But I enjoy reading about people who try to balance needs vs. wants. 🙂

  9. March 13, 2012 10:24 am

    I want one so badly lately. I wanted one when they first came out but this past week the iPad bug came back and bit me. I’m hoping that I can get one before FinCon12. I agree, I don’t think it’s the worst way to spend $400+ but quite the oppositie. 🙂

  10. March 13, 2012 12:20 pm

    I wanted one for the better part of last year. With hopes that I could get my parents to get it for me for Christmas. This didn’t work. My Dad did give me $240 to put towards the total cost. about a month later I got an addtiional $400, so I had plenty to buy the iPad. Now that I had to part with the money, the iPad wasn’t as attractive. AMAZING how this works.

    i got the Acer A500, with leather case and screen protectores for just under $300. It meets my need for a lightweigt computer for traveling, apps and whatever else I want to use it for.

  11. March 13, 2012 12:22 pm

    I use my iPad for:
    – watching netflix in bed
    – recipes
    – having a personal “computer” at work
    – great for travel – writing quick emails back home, or looking up attractions online before leaving the hotel that morning, checking into flights (I don’t bring a cell phone on vacation)
    – watching tv/movies at the gym — my gym doesn’t have in-equipment tvs, and music just doesn’t do it, so this one is key. I’ve also downloaded workout apps where I bring the iPad, carefully, over to the free weights and follow instructions off the screen
    – downloading ebooks from the library

    When I first got the iPad, admittedly I spent most of the time playing Words with Friends, and in that case it would have been a waste of money…..but, after owning it for a good 6-7 months I’m definitely getting use out of it!

  12. March 13, 2012 1:45 pm

    Naw, I don’t really get the tablet thing, myself. Good for blog reading and such, but not for commenting and writing (unless you get an actual keyboard to go with it), and I am fiercely anti-ebooks!

  13. March 13, 2012 4:52 pm

    Every once in awhile, I think – OH! I want an iPad! But I’ve never had any desire to have a tablet other than the iPad. I have a Kindle which I use almost constantly – it’s not a touch – and I have a smart phone and a laptop and a desk top, I couldn’t justify it. But I’m not a gadget person to begin with.

  14. March 13, 2012 6:14 pm

    I didn’t think I’d really have a use for an iPad other than e-reading, but I bought one anyway because it would be easier to go through security with it than with a full laptop (even an Air).

    Turns out, I use it for a LOT of stuff

    1) Zinio = magazine reading

    2) Kobo = ebooks (I think Amazon is available too under the Kindle App)

    3) Playing the piano = I am going to scan all my piano music in there and use the iPad

    4) Watching videos

    5) Surfing lightly ( I hate surfing and blog reading on it because I want to comment a lot, but the keyboard sucks. You need an external keyboard if you are planning on replying to emails and commenting a lot )

    That’s about it. I love it. A great app mostly for reading, but oh-so-worth it.

  15. March 13, 2012 7:33 pm

    I have one, and I love it. It’s pretty much attached to me. I use it for email, twitter, blogging, commenting, browsing, and watching tv/videos. It’s a great piece of technology. I prefer it to my smartphone, because for someone as blind as me, the vivid and sharp ipad display makes things easy to see on it.

  16. March 13, 2012 9:55 pm

    I have an iPad 2, used it a lot for the first few months, and then quickly got bored of it. I do all my work on my laptop and use my phone for Twitter and FB. So my iPad has basically turned into a paperweight…lol. It’s for sale if you’re interested!

    • March 14, 2012 6:59 am

      Maybe! What’s your price? Is it fully functional? Although, you are not being a very good salesperson!

      I think my thing is my laptop is old and relatively heavy and my phone kind of sucks… so I see the appeal!

  17. missmaddie permalink
    March 13, 2012 11:31 pm

    YES yes and yes. I defin want one but am looking for a refurbished one since it wasnt in my budget. But it also is part of my bday to myself. Although i will be having surgery in june and will be lying down for ine whole week and be on disability for 2 months …

  18. Cait permalink
    March 14, 2012 6:02 am

    Don’t have one, don’t want one. I spend enough time on my iPhone and MacBook that I just can’t reason the price!

  19. March 14, 2012 7:57 am

    DH recently made the decision not to get one. He tried one out from a friend and decided it didn’t offer enough over his netbook to make it worth the investment.

    One of my friends really wants one as a tenure treat for herself, because she’s putting off buying a house until Summer and feels like she should get something NOW.

  20. March 14, 2012 8:26 am

    I have one and I LOVE it! I bought the case the has the bluetooth keyboard attached to make it easier to blog. I use it often to blog when I don’t feel like pulling out the laptop. I also have books downloaded on it and movies and of course apps to pass the time when I’m out and about.

  21. March 14, 2012 8:28 am

    I also love reading magazines on the Ipad 2…saves me from adding another magazine to the ever growing pile in the corner of the room

  22. Kate permalink
    March 14, 2012 11:47 am

    I’d say go for it. I didn’t want one but received one as a gift from my boss. I like reading on it much better than the kindle & streaming Netflix on it is awesome. It’s also perfect for light internet browsing. It is the ultimate travel companion – that is when I’ve most appreciated it and it seems like you have a lot of that coming up. I’d also suggest splurging on the 3G option as that’s one regret I’ve had.

    • March 15, 2012 6:54 am

      Does the 3G option need a monthly data plan though? I hate adding recurring expenses to my budget

  23. March 14, 2012 2:41 pm

    I’ve used one before just for watching movies and e-books. I have heard from other parents that it’s really good for traveling with kids. You can download kid movies and also you don’t want to hand them your laptop or netbook, although I’m sure kids can break an iPad if they put their minds to it!

  24. March 16, 2012 9:06 am

    Not really worth it. iPad has rather horribly reflection , to read anything you need to keep it under certain angle. Typing is not as good as on a laptop….

    I decided it against it. As you rightly mentioned it is supersized cell phone. Especially in nowadays when all data plans are limited to the amount of data you can use.

  25. Sweta permalink
    March 16, 2012 6:51 pm

    Yes I kinda want one but I’d never actually purchase it myself. If someone were to give me theirs I’d gladly accept it though. Here’s an interesting article everyone should read about the iPad 3. http://www.mrmoneymustache.com/2012/03/14/why-i-am-so-not-buying-an-ipad-3/

  26. March 18, 2012 9:02 am

    I’ve gone back and forth about getting one so many times. I’m actually close to getting one. Right now the husband and I only have one computer and I think it would be nice to both be online at the same time. Also, for someone who loves to travel, having something so lightweight to bring with us sounds amazing. I’m trying to wait a couple of months, but I have a feeling that I will soon finally get one.

  27. findingserenity2010 permalink
    March 18, 2012 6:32 pm

    dude – iPads are pretty awesome. I don’t necessarily want once since I am an uber-PC girl with a nice newer laptop, but I can relate to the feeling. Me? I’m a personal finance/life blogger, but I want a car! Guess what that requires? A car payment! when I have a 13-year old car with no car payment now, why would I do that to myself? I can feel all the Dave Ramsey eyes glaring at me when I say that, but hey – if it’s what you want, it’s what you want!

    you could put it this way to all the haters: you may want an iPad, but at least it isn’t a car! haha!

  28. jmn permalink
    March 19, 2012 12:42 pm

    I’ve had an iPad for 1.5 years. I do *lots* of writing on it, using the onscreen keyboard. Emails, documents for work (including things as long as book chapters), spreadsheets, etc – I love the onscreen keyboard and have never considered buying a Bluetooth keyboard for it. So – I recommend you check out the onscreen keyboard in a store and see if it is for you. Certainly not everyone likes it, but for me it is excellent.

  29. March 22, 2012 8:25 am

    I’m getting the new iPad in a couple weeks. I’ll be my first tablet, so I’m pretty excited to see how many uses I can think of for it.

  30. March 28, 2012 9:57 am

    As a PF blogger, the one luxury item I feel like splurging on right now is a tablet, but probably an eee pad transformer. I’m even trying to justify the purchase to myself on productivity grounds, e.g. I’ll be able to blog more because of the enhanced portability it offers! The things we say to ourselves!..

Leave a Reply

