Skip to content

L.A. Marathon 2012

March 20, 2012

I ran the LA Marathon this last weekend. It went SO well!

The weather forecast was questionable all week. I went out and bought a light running jacket in a panic, but Sunday morning was this amazing pocket of good weather. The wind picked up in the last half mile or so and it was windy the rest of the day.  But for 25.7 miles of my race, it was perfectly cool, just the right amount of sunny, and all around AMAZING!

The course and course support were SO great.  I laughed out loud at the transvestite cheerleaders in west Hollywood.  The signs were so funny:  “You trained longer than Kim Kardashian was married!”  By the time I arrived in Santa Monica, I was so exhausted, but the crowd was so encouraging.

All in all, I spent upwards of $300 on race related expenses. Tallying it up will only make me (or T) annoyed. The race itself ($150), shoes (at least $100 each), gym membership, running fuel, conveinence meals for when I was too tied up to cook…

Still, I spent so many hours running. I really love the process of marathon training. I love the long runs. I love the build up. And I love tapering! And the high of the race through my city, getting my time goal, and everything. I just loved it all.  It was much easier to stick to my plan the second time around, and much easier to set a challenging time goal.  (Everyone insists first time marathoners have a goal to “just finish”.)

That being said, I’m excited to have free time again!

I’m expecting this means I’ll be around & blogging a little more again. I’m definitely excited to dig through my finances and see how things are going. I also ended (and plan to restart) my shopping ban with several purchases. I have my reasons/justifications/excuses, but I’m still happy with the effort.

I’m taking the week off from running & all sorts of exercises, then I hope to start focusing on yoga for a week or two then… we’ll see.   In the mean time, I’ve got a pile of work to do and I’m really excited to be making progress on my new job!  Maybe more on that later this week – once I get some stuff done.

One Comment leave one →
  1. mochiandmacarons permalink
    March 20, 2012 6:58 am

    Congratulations!! It sounds like it was an awesome time.

    You want to dig into your finances, I want to avoid mine 😛

Leave a Reply

