Skip to content

Shopping Ban, part 2

March 22, 2012

My friend bought some compression tights before we ran the marathon.  She raved about them.  I want some too! I’ve been interested for a long time, but they are ridiculously expensive for exercise clothes, so I’ve fought the “i want it!” voice for  a long time.  It is approximately 70 dollars to buy what I want.  In the grand scheme of my life $70 is not a big deal.  However, if you apply to every $70 purchase, it does turn out to be kind of a big deal!

My natural inclination is to search for the best deal, then buy them now.  I’m trying to reset my natural inclination to be more like the broke student I once was.  Therefore, I’m doing another shopping ban for April and May.  My original plan was to go 70 days without buying anything unnecessary, then allow myself the $70 purchase.  However, I’m running a half marathon in mid-May, so I’ll probably buy them in advance of the race, then I’ll continue on the ban until June.  (Yes, I’m getting the reward before the ban is over – it’s my fuzzy logic, and I like it.)

Allowed items:

  • replace my facial cleanser
  • replace my foundation
  • socks, underwear, and one pair of Target quality leggings
  • gifts
  • a bread knife
  •  moderate entertainment: streaming movies, dinners/plans with husband/friends, etc.
  • trip to the mountains in April
  • a haircut

We are still allowed to eat out, but as usual, I’m always trying to be reasonable in that category.  So clearly, I’m targeting clothing, but also other “wants” that aren’t clothing.  Such as iPads.  🙂  I still may get one, but I’m going to wait until at least June 1st.  My current strategy is to try to win one through a drawing at work, but that is a long shot!

An astute reader may ask, “Wait, aren’t you already doing a shopping ban?”

Good point.  Yes.  I was.  It lasted about 6 weeks, then I got a few things.  Still, when I buy my clothing in less frequently, I’m more intentional about it.  It gives me time to think about what I most often am wishing I had in my wardrobe.  The point isn’t just about spending less money, it’s about spending the money on the right things.  A professional wardrobe is helpful in my workplace for presenting a good image, but I have to be smart about it.

Are you doing a shopping ban this year?  Do you find them useful?  And shopping bans aside, do you wear compression gear for workouts?

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2012 2:43 pm

    I don’t do shopping bans because I know I’m setting myself up for failure. That’s just how I am. Rather, I like to get really super busy and then forget about frivolous spending! Works for me nicely.

    Also have you heard of compression calf sleeves? I really want to try them but they are $50. I have been putting them off but I run a lot and get shin splints….worth it?

    • March 23, 2012 7:36 am

      I’ve heard of them, but I haven’t used them. T gave me some compression socks, but I just wear them after long runs for recovery. I haven’t had shin splint issues either.

      If they work, then I imagine it would be worth the $50 to prevent the pain! But it would be disappointing to buy them and STILL have shin splints.

  2. SWR permalink
    March 22, 2012 3:46 pm

    I am! I’m trying to lose weight, and said that (excluding workwear, because l don’t have very much) I wouldn’t buy any new clothing until i need to replace an item or get to a size I want. I’ve lost a little bit of weight and purchased a few things that will work for multiple sizes, and I did buy a full suit and a few items at a thrift store…but that’s it.

    Considering how much I used to spend on clothing, I’m quite pleased. I definitely think more before I spend, and I have become much more aware of what clothing I like on me and what clothing I like on other people.

  3. March 22, 2012 4:21 pm

    I, myself, am doing a “high end” beauty ban. I took an inventory of what I had purchased in the last year and felt completely sick. I am thinking of doing a clothing ban as well except replacing staple pieces such as t-shirts. Nothing new “just to have it, or add to it”. Clothing in=clothing out.

  4. March 22, 2012 11:32 pm

    I don’t do shopping bans, but I tend to stay away from: a) malls and b) the downtown shopping core. And somehow, I also keep myself away from online shopping pretty easily. I only go out shopping when I am looking for something specific.

    I don’t have any compression tights, but I definitely have compression tops and they are AWESOME!

  5. March 24, 2012 6:57 am

    My shopping ban just ended today! Strangely enough, the urge to shop isn’t very strong, although I do plan to buy myself some nice workout clothes in the near future.

    I’ve been wondering about the compression gear myself, although I’m not running as far as you are. I was thinking of trying a less expensive brand (for example, I think Old Navy sells compression leggings and shorts) to see if I like them.

  6. March 26, 2012 11:02 am

    I think it is a great idea to adjust the budget if you come across something you “need now”. You just have to make sure you don’t keep doing it month after month! I often follow the same logic :).

Trackbacks

  1. Have More Money Without Making More Money Life [Comma] Etc
  2. Have More Money Without Making More Money Life [Comma] Etc

Leave a Reply

