Skip to content

Hobbies & Spending

April 25, 2012

I admit I’m a bit of a dilettante when it comes to… a lot of things.  I’ll try any new sport activity at least once (except team sports – blech!).  I’ll try most any thing once, actually, even with the full knowledge I probably won’t ever do it again, as long as I don’t have to invest a bunch of start-up money.

Right now I have a few hobbies that take up a most of my free time.

  • Running:  Racing, training, and all things running.  On a good week, I run 20+ miles.  On a good marathon training week, that would be 40+.  I’m not super fast, so that is 6-7 hours of training, plus associated changing into clothes and showering and such.  Now that I’m not really racing, it is more like 3-5 hours.
  • Reading Books:  I really go through phases, but I’ve been spending a lot of spare time reading lately.  Also, I double up this with running by listening to audiobooks.  🙂
  • Blogging & Reading Blogs:  This is a a pretty big time suck, but I’d never give it up.  Note that most of my time is spent reading other blogs rather than maintaining this one.  I don’t think I could stop writing if I wanted to.  Even if I stopped maintaining a blog, I have personal writings about  life (for myself), and… I can’t help but do that.  I’ve been doing it my whole life.  This is a hobby you can even make money from if you are interested!  (I don’t.)
  • Backpacking/hiking:  Generally, this is  just a weekend activity, but it can easily take a few weekends out of my summer.
  • Traveling and travel planning:  Is this really a hobby or not?  I spend a lot of time daydreaming and researching itineraries, so I’ll say yes.  It’s probably one of my favorite ways to waste time online.  Traveling itself falls beyond “hobby” in my mind, but it is still something I spend a fair amount of my income on.

With the exception of traveling, these are relatively cheap.  Running can get expensive, but only if I race a lot.  Races are expensive, but provide motivation.   Most of my books come to my kindle via the library, and all of you are kind enough to entertain me with your blogging.  A lot of my hobby money is spent on exercise/fitness clothing and/or trying out new things like kayaking or snowboarding.

What about you?  What are your favorite frugal hobbies?  Do you have any hobbies that are budget busters?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. thisaggiesaves permalink
    April 25, 2012 8:53 am

    I like knitting and crocheting, they are pretty cheap hobbies unless you go and make afghans or something.

  2. April 25, 2012 9:32 am

    I’m glad I’m not alone! I LOVE researching and planning travel, it’s almost just as fun as the actual traveling part.

  3. amomsdime permalink
    April 25, 2012 10:01 am

    I love ultimate frisbee – it’s not that expensive considering all you need is a pair of cleats, a frisbee, and a bunch of friends. I love that the sport is an easy one to play with both guys and girls…I’m terrible at motivating myself to run and exercise on my own but it doesn’t feel like exercise when I’m having fun with others!

  4. April 25, 2012 2:37 pm

    I’m a hobby dilettante too (and travel planning IS a hobby!)

    On your list, I’d swap out hiking for baking/cooking/eating and music and it would be identical.

  5. April 25, 2012 9:04 pm

    I like the way you think! I like to try new things as well and really dive into them with good research and planning before I start on them. I am a bit of a researcher and apply this to my hobbies or Business ventures as well. Thanks for the great insight!

  6. April 25, 2012 9:22 pm

    I love to sew… In my case, definitely NOT frugal! lol! But I get a good amount of custom orders so it offsets my fabric buys! 😉 I also love photography, which once you get the equipment isn’t so bad.. I make $$ that way too, so it evens out I think!

  7. Bonnie permalink
    April 26, 2012 8:07 am

    I hate team sports, too. Thanks for making me feel like I’m not alone. 😛

    • April 28, 2012 9:44 am

      Ha! I can maybe stand for some beach volleyball, but beyond that… not for me. 🙂

  8. April 28, 2012 9:10 pm

    Call me crazy, but I actually love team sports!

    I’m not interested in making money from my blog either 🙂

  9. belowhermeans permalink
    April 29, 2012 9:26 am

    I’m trying to get completely sober because I realized I don’t really know myself enough (long sob story over at my blog). I like to read and go for walks but I want other hobbies that enrich me to pass the beautiful days.

Leave a Reply

