Skip to content

April Goal Wrap-up

April 30, 2012

This month my biggest issue was that I set several goals that weren’t really that important to me.  Again.  I have to let go of things I think I “should” do and things that I really really want to do.  I need to make sure my goals line up (at least roughly) with my plans.  Pushing myself is great, but aggressive goals need to be in areas I want to focus on.  Not whims.

That said, it was a good month for one of my top priorities, work.  Really great, even.

I also did get our vacation planned and did a moderate amount of running.  But most of the rest was just a mess.  I’m trying to get back into my “normal” routines, but I’m having trouble juggling everything right now.

Life

Have an amazing month at work
Yes.  I learned a lot this month about aspects beyond my little project, and the last week or so I’ve been furiously trying to get ready for a review for my project…. Not ready yet, so I’ll be working on Sunday!  I was accepted for an interview for the leadership program I applied to, met with our director to talk about it, and attended several lunch time seminars on various aspects of our business.  It was a good month!

Go away with T to celebrate our anniversary
Hmm, well…  We got an iPad instead.  But we did have a pretty lovely weekend in town!
Finish all planning for Alaska trip
Yes, we are good to go on our itinerary.   Next step, putting together a packing list!
Go hiking with T
Yes!  We did our favorite L.A. area hike!
Fitness
Go to bootcamp at least 10 times
Oh, I don’t even want to talk about this.  I went one time.  I didn’t like it.  My normal excuse was that I didn’t want to get into work so late, but that was really only a factor in that first week.

Go to yoga at least 2 times
Dang it.  Zero times.  I do want to prioritize this one, it’s one of those “scared to start” things.

Run at least 15 miles a week
I ran:  6, 4, 20, and this week will be 16.  So, fail, but showing improvement!

Finance/Frugal

Reduce grocery & restaurant spending compared to our first quarter average
Groceries were ~$100 less than average, but restaurants were about on par.  This is not surprising since we did a little extra eating out around our anniversary.
 
Make homemade granola
Fail.  I just didn’t get around to this.  I surely could do it this afternoon or tomorrow, but I have some store bought granola right now.
 
Continue shopping ban
I was about to say that I did this.  I did, as far as clothes go.  But we did buy an iPad, a printer, and a new cooking pan.  And T bought a garment bag.  I don’t really think I can claim victory here!
2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2012 11:39 am

    Looks like you did good!

  2. May 1, 2012 12:38 am

    Agreed! That is so the hardest part of setting goals. It is so easy to set things that you want to do as goals and then never find the time to do them…

    Congrats on an amazing month at work! I’m really looking forward to test driving a bit of management this summer with an intern and a project to plan. I’m hoping it doesn’t get too overwhelming.

    Alaska sounds amazing too 🙂 I’m heading to Montreal in June, which I am REALLY looking forward to.

    One of my fitness goals for April was to walk at least 20 miles per week and to work up to running. I think I’m getting closer to that and I found the most amazing running trail near my new apartment which makes me not want to move, haha!

Leave a Reply

