Skip to content

My #1 fan

April 30, 2012

I asked T to do a guest post for me on a “topic of your choice, at least tangentially related to personal finance or money.”  He doesn’t really like writing (weirdo!) but he said his post would be about the box fan we currently have in our bedroom window, and how it was his number 1 fan.

It looks like this:

… only much older and dirtier!

I’m quite sure I borrowed it from my parents when I got my first post-college appartment.  Some mover guys moved it from Iowa to California for me.  (Since my company paid for movers, I did absolutely NO pre-move decluttering.  Lazy!)

We run it every night in the summer and it brings the cool ocean breeze into our bedroom and provides white noise to cover any summer shenanigans by neighbors.  It is held in place by the string that is used to close the blinds.  It is technically a 3-speed fan, but only one speed works, and you have to wiggle it a little to get it to stay on that speed.  Sometimes it stops randomly, and you have to get out of bed and wiggle it again.  Since it is something we use every day for months, we’ve talked many times about replacing it and getting a nice clean fully functional one.  But it works, so we just haven’t got around to it.

So what do you think?  Should I take topic suggestion from my husband in the future?  I’m thinking not, but in his defense, it was a joke.  🙂  No really – would you replace the fan, or just keep on living with it?  You know what I would do, because I’ve been doing it for 4 years!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Amber permalink
    April 30, 2012 7:16 am

    My husband and I LOVE our box fan! It makes so much noise 🙂 We actually just got one at Target for like $16 recently, so it might be worth it to replace it! 🙂

    • April 30, 2012 7:28 am

      It is totally worth it to replace it! It’s just like one of those things i hate buying. It is so unexciting!

  2. April 30, 2012 7:44 am

    I actually bought two crazy fancy fans from Home Depot for $50 apiece a few years ago when I moved here. They have remote controls! So you don’t have to get out of bed to adjust the speed or the oscillations or anything!

    I had a box fan back when I was interning and it was pretty much useless for the heat.

    Mmmmm you’re making me wish I lived next to the ocean. I think I’m going to try to take a road trip to the ocean at the end of the summer 🙂

  3. April 30, 2012 8:26 am

    lol I definitely thought your post was going to be about who your number one fan was instead of the fan! I will admit we have one too that I love just as much. 🙂

  4. thisaggiesaves permalink
    April 30, 2012 9:40 am

    I’d replace it. They’re so inexpensive.

  5. April 30, 2012 9:45 am

    I’d replace it too… not worth getting up in the middle of the night, to adjust speed or when it stops working..

  6. May 28, 2012 12:02 pm

    I also vote for replace it, but put it in a different window and suck air out of your house instead. Leave the windows open in the rooms you like to cool and you have 1 fan and as many cool rooms as you need. We use this method to cool the three bedrooms in our house starting about 30 minutes before bed and it works wonders.

    • May 29, 2012 7:52 am

      We have a long panel window that opens on two ends, so we turn it around and “suck the air out” of one end, letting the air flow through the other.

      We basically have one bedroom and one living room/kitchen area, so this works for us. Plus it almost never gets very hot here.

Leave a Reply

