Skip to content

May Goals

May 2, 2012

In my mind, I really just have the first two weeks of May to accomplish goals. The third week is a combo of work travel and vacation, and after that, I’ll just be coasting towards June/vacation. So, what are the most important things to me this month?

I have another career focused month. Maybe they all kind of are these days! I’m attending a conference and I’ll have a chance to spend some less formal time with people on my team. Yay! It will be mostly work, but it still should be a really interesting event for me. I also am trying to (help) steer my project on track and find some extra money to help us reach our goal. And I think I have to make a poster for a project poster session. All in all, fun times ahead!

Here are the other things I want to accomplish:

Fitness – Run 15-20 miles per a week: This will be challenging during my travel week, but I think I can do it. Maybe. At any rate, it is a goal that I think is important enough to list. I’m also running a 1/2 marathon, and I really have no clue how I’ll do… I’m hoping for sub-2 hours, but my training has been sporadic.

Career – Prepare interview prep document: I applied for a leadership development program and I will be subject to an interview. My newest job was more of an informal internal transfer, so I haven’t done a real interview in over 4 years. Basically, I want a list of “stories” that I can shuffle through to answer “tell me about a time…” type questions. I need to do this the first weekend in May. I’m interviewing outside the official period, so it is likely I’ll be the very first candidate.

Finances/Frugal – Reduce restaurant spending to <$200: I write this a lot, but this month it is really important to stick to it! We’ve been average more than $300, so this is a good step down. We’ll be spending one weekend camping, so that helps. I need to remind T to stay on board and not spend TOO much when I go out of town!

Finances/Frugal – Keep clothing spending to <$150: Only this high because I already ordered some pants and I want to give myself the option to pick up a replacement pair of BR skinny jeans if I can snag a 40% off deal. I seem to come across them almost every month, so I’m holding out.

Finances/Frugal – Reduce hobby spending to <$30:  Basically, don’t sign up for any races or buy any new running gear or pay to try anything new. I did allocate about $30 in case I need to buy a book or two. I’m on the waiting list for several library books, but I need my kindle to be full since I’m taking a few flights! On that note:

Life – Finish 5 books and do a book post: This is unusually high for me for a single month, but I’m in the middle of two books already, and one of them is both really grabbing me and really short. Easy win!   Plus, I have two cross-coast flights and one flight to the midwest, so I expect to have a lot of time to read.

Life – Book some weekend plans with T for the rest of the year: We need to sketch out a travel schedule, taking into plans already made (weddings, backpacking trips, etc.).   In July T starts his new position based out of the bay area. I can’t believe how quickly it is coming up.  We are kind of in denial, really.  The summer is pretty eventful and we probably just need to add 1 trip in there, but things are less clear after that.  I already can’t wait for the year to be over!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2012 5:12 am

    You already want the year to be over? Why?! The year is just getting started and I am so looking forward to summer and the rest of 2012!

    I think that May through August are going to be career months for me as well and I’ll end up holding off on moving/buying a condo… We’ll see. Have fun at the conference! 🙂

    Have you ever been to the Grace Hopper Conference? It is pretty awesome and a lot of fun! My employer actually paid for me to go even!

    • May 2, 2012 7:21 am

      There is a lot I’m looking forward to, but the year (or really 10 months) of partial long distance with my husband is going to be just plain hard!

      I haven’t heard of that conference – ill look into it.

      Work is paying for my trip, but it is billed to MY little project, so somehow that seems a little less awesome. It doesn’t affect my personal budget, but I’ll still see the impact.

  2. May 2, 2012 5:22 am

    Good luck with your goals! I wish I could run 15-20 miles a week. I’d probably faint.

Leave a Reply

