Skip to content

May Money Updates

May 10, 2012

It is early May, but we’ve already spent about $150 on restaurants this month.  The majority was on pre-committed dinners with friends, but still.  It’s going to be a challenge to stay under $200.

T won a $1000 prize at school for his work!  The prestiage alone is great, but I was thrilled to learn it came with cash savings.

We got an ink jet printer around the time we got engaged and used it to print wedding programs (and many other things since them).  Last month we replaced it with a laser printer because we were sick of always buying ink.  And iit was always out of cyan, even if we hadn’t printed in color.  If you were missing one color, you couldn’t print black and white!  Yesterday we discovered the damn thing won’t even function as a scanner if it is out of ink.  What a cruel design!  It was an Epson printer.  Buyer beware!  We are debating sellinng it for cheap on craigslist or throwing it out the window.  I’m voting for the later.

T just started his short-term consulting gig.  He’ll have less time to work on the project thann we had hoped, but it will still be better than nothing.  Our cash savings is hungry!

My work laptop is supposed to be delivered this week.  I avoided getting one sooner since I worked mostly on proprietary programs that don’t allow laptop use.  Now I can use one.  I’m not sure what to think about it, since I know it is given with the expectation I’ll use it at home.  Then again, I went into work on the weekend twice already, and it would have beeen much easier to just work from my couch.

I have two days of work left this week.  Next week is half business travel and half vacation. Then a full week followed by memorial day (4 day week).  After that I’m going on vacation for real! To alaska!  This month is ging to fly by.
5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2012 1:44 pm

    I hate when we use up most of one of our budget items early in the month. It makes the rest of the month so tense!

    Have I mentioned that I am super jealous of your Alaskan vacation? I think I’m more jealous than even if you were going somewhere tropical!

  2. May 10, 2012 5:41 pm

    Well, it just makes me think we’ll probably go over budget 🙂 I’m not so strict about it lately, but I’m wondering if I should be more strict.

    Tropical vacations just don’t do as much for me as mountains & wilderness. 🙂 I’m super excited!

  3. amomsdime permalink
    May 10, 2012 6:07 pm

    Congrats to T for winning $1000!! That’s huge.

  4. May 12, 2012 9:37 pm

    I had that problem with my printer in college too… I swore that if I bought another printer, it would be a laser jet one. I don’t have too much need to print at home now, so I just use the work printers when I need to print something.

    I absolutely love working from my couch if I need to do work on weekends. That’s what I’m going to do next when I’m doing going through my Google Reader.

  5. May 15, 2012 6:49 pm

    Congrats to T!

Leave a Reply

