Skip to content

June 2012 Goal Results

July 5, 2012

I have been focusing on a lot of other things last month, and blogging was nowhere to be found on my list of priorities.  I wonder if that is going to be the case indefinitely.  It might be, but I’m not quite ready to let go.  This is by far the longest I’ve gone without blogging and 3 posts in one month is a record low… Yet, I have to admit… I didn’t really miss it.

What does that mean!?!

Blogging isn’t very fun to do in a vacuum, but I also can’t expect readers to stick around when I have nothing to say.  But since this is a labor of love and I’m not interested in monetizing, I’m pretty selfish about blogging.  I’m not going to post if it doesn’t add something positive to my life.  I’m not going to do it if I don’t get value out of it.

1.  Track all vacation spending and do a budget post.  Yes!  Post is scheduled.

2.  Schedule summer/fall plans with T.  Wow, not at all.  We still haven’t even got logistics figured out of exactly when he will be moving up there, where he will be living, etc. 

3.  Start month long yoga challenge with Groupon.  Hmm, this is postponed to July – but I will do it!   My neighbor-friend will drag me there even if I try to procrastinate. 

4.  Be a good host to T’s parents.  This was pretty much a fail.  Tom cleaned the apartment, but we had hardly any food on hand, and I didn’t feel like we did a good job hosting.  It was a short visit, so the ramifications were not large, but I still felt like a failure.

In summary, June was really fun for vacation, but other than that, I’ve been totally burnt out on life.  I can’t pinpoint why.  Work has been weird, but not too overwhelming, aside from a trip to the east coast for a one day meeting.  It probably has something to do with the fact that T leaving has progressed from a mere logical plan to an actual thing that is going to happen.  Soon.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. mochiandmacarons permalink
    July 5, 2012 10:24 am

    1. I’m the same way about the blog, even if it doesn’t seem like it 😛 I find it fun to post once in a while, but other times, I wouldn’t mind letting it go at just 2 posts a month or less.

    I don’t think about blogging as much as I used to.

    2. I’m doing a yoga thing too! 🙂 I am LOVING it

  2. July 5, 2012 10:42 am

    I’m with you both on the blogging! If I’ve got nothing to say, I don’t say anything. Doesn’t make sense to post for no reason – the minute the blog turns into a job is the minute I quit – I’m not making enough to justify that!

    I’d love to hear more about your yoga challenge! I’m pretty consistent about going every week to my favorite teacher’s class, but I’m constantly battling the home practice bug.

    • July 9, 2012 1:09 pm

      Honestly, my “challenge” is just a yoga groupon for 1 month unlimited. I want to get into yoga, but for whatever reason, I’m intimidated by it. If I can go a couple times a week for a month, at least I’ll be past that hurdle!

  3. July 5, 2012 10:51 am

    I have no posts scheduled for next week and it’s freeing! I hear you on feeling burnt out on life. I’m moving this weekend and there are way too many things going on.

    T leaving sucks 😦 Do you know how long he will be gone for? Maybe you’ll blog more while he’s not living with you 😉

    • July 5, 2012 1:12 pm

      The plan is roughly until next June, so it is significant. Clearly we’ll be seeing each other pretty often, but it is still totally different.

      The position is pretty flexible, so if he doesn’t get a tenure-track job next year, he could extend a year… except that would be horrible for us! We’re talking about what we would do if that happens, and I think he’d then do the rest of the work remotely. In-person collaboration is great, but probably not worth the impact to our personal lives (after the initial first year).

  4. July 5, 2012 10:57 am

    I know what you mean about blogging! I’ve been without internet for the past 5 days, and it’s actually been wonderful.

  5. Maggie permalink
    July 8, 2012 5:40 am

    I’ve enjoyed reading your blog! I wanted to comment to say that I have been in a similar situation over the past 1.5 years as I took a job 6 hours away from my husband (while he finished a postdoc and applied/interviewed/accepted a tenure-track position). We’re back together and moving soon to the new location. All in all, I’m glad we did it since it worked out well for both of our careers, and the time really did go by quickly. Good luck to you both!

    • July 9, 2012 1:10 pm

      Thanks Maggie! I love hearing about other people who made it work. Lots of people seem to understand, but another group of people just don’t get why we would do something like this. It is absolutely the most logical choice… but it is still hard!

Leave a Reply

