Skip to content

2012 Alaska Vacation

July 6, 2012

I tallied up our Alaska vacation spending a while back, and was happy with the outcome!  Much cheaper than previous year’s vacations, but equally awesome.  I know that Alaska isn’t even international, but it was somewhere I’d been really dying to see (especially having visited Europe two years in a row).

We didn’t scrimp on restaurants or food while we were there.  However, we spent a few days camping and flights were relatively inexpensive, so costs remained low by vacation standards.  We camped a total of 4 nights and stayed in little cabins the other 4 nights.

The kayaking day cost a lot of money, but I’m really glad we did it.  I wanted to see the glaciers up close and without a swarm of cruise ship people.  (Yes, I’m prejudice against cruisers.)  It was a really magical day.  Almost as amazing as the kayaking was the sealife we got to see on the long water taxi ride over.  The whales absolutely took my breath away!

Denali was beautiful and we saw a lot of wildlife.  However, I wouldn’t go back.    Denali touts the “no trails” thing as a big plus, but I discovered that I prefer the trail system.  Having bridges over most rivers and flat places to camp is a huge plus,  even if it means that I’m not allowed to trample the meadows.  Plus… there were a lot of cruise ship people in the vicinity of Denali, at least until we got into the backcountry.

I’m really happy we did this, but the rest of June was kind of a whirlwind  and I only am now (in early July!) catching my breath!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2012 11:03 am

    Wow. What a gorgeous photo. I’m so envious. I would love to go to Alaska!

  2. mochiandmacarons permalink
    July 6, 2012 12:03 pm

    I want to do this next year. Alaska is on my list of places to visit too!

  3. belowhermeans permalink
    July 6, 2012 9:35 pm

    Alaska seems so majestic, I look forward to visiting one day too.

  4. July 13, 2012 5:16 am

    It is one awesome trip. You wont regret. We live for the thing to remember and it is one of them : -) Believe you me it is still much cheaper than Bali or any other exotic destination!

Leave a Reply

