Skip to content

July 2012 Goals

July 9, 2012

This is the month when T moves, so I’m trying to limit the amount of stress I put myself under.  We have a lead on a place available August 1st.  It’s a little more expensive than I wanted, but I have an unrealistically low price in mind. (What, T, you don’t want to sleep in a living room with 3 others???)

We joked he should find an “Occupy” movement to join and he can take our tent up to the Bay area and camp out.   It may make a horrible first impression, but it would save a ton of money!  Anyway, he’s looking at a bunch of choices still, and we don’t know what the situation will be… but we should know SOON.

Run 45 miles & do some speed work each week:  I’m sort of training for a half marathon, but it is far enough away that I’m not taking it seriously and keeping my training low pressure.  I cut down my goal even more to accommodate goal below… but I’d really like to do 60 miles!

Do Yoga 2 times a week (starting July 9):  This is going to be hard, at least in conjunction with running.  I am typically a one-sport girl, but I have unlimited yoga for a month.  I better use it!  (Since I’m posting these so late, I can tell you that I already went to my first class July 7th, and it was great!  And I was sore!)

Finish 2 books:  This is low for two reasons.  1) Lately I’ve been watching Dawson’s Creek on streaming Netflix instead of reading.  It has been kind of mind numbingly fantastic, so I’m sticking with that!  Though I’m kind of upset that the Netflix version doesn’t have the classic “I Don’t Wanna Wait” theme song…  2) One of these books is Atlas Shrugged, and I highly doubt I’ll finish it in the next 3 weeks anyway.  I am already thinking I’ll fail this goal, because if I work out a lot, I just can’t stay awake to read!

Annnnd that’s it!

I don’t have any personal finance goals this month, aside from keeping up usual good habits (track spending, try to keep it low, bring lunch).  No specific “be awesome at work” goals, though that is always a major focus.  No blogging goals.  I’m just going to try to catch my breath this month and try to hold back the tears!  Sorry if I’m being overly dramatic about this.  I do realize this was something we chose to do and it is a very first world problem, but that really doesn’t change the fact that it sucks compared to the situation we have right now.

So, is this too slacker-ish for monthly goals?  Or does it sound actually pretty perfect for mid-summer?  🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2012 8:42 pm

    I would say that planning on running 45 miles per week isn’t very slacker-like 😛

    Good luck with the apartment hunt and move for T! Those are always stressful. And separation sucks 😦 I feel for you.

  2. July 10, 2012 5:59 am

    I just had to comment – we’ve been working through Dawson’s Creek, too, and we get a little sad about the different soundtrack each time! Apparently there was some strangeness to the rights of the intro song (and other songs throughout the show) so they aren’t available on Netflix. I’d love to have the job of taking old TV shows and putting them to different songs!! (Charmed has a different soundtrack, too).

Leave a Reply

