Skip to content

Updates!

July 24, 2012

The excitement/changes in finances revolve from T’s new job situation.  I’m still getting my usual bi-weekly paychecks and there is nothing too exciting going on there.

T has a place to live in the SF area!  He’ll be renting a room for $800/month, month-to-month rent.  The location is ideal for a non-car owner, and most other things are acceptable.  The biggest downside is that there is no cooking.  We’ll see how that works out for him, but I anticipate it will be a minor issue.  I hope.

He’s been working at his new job all month without having to actually move up there.  He hasn’t really been here all that much either due to various conferences, but at least he hasn’t been paying rent.  He’ll be getting his first paycheck soon.  He anticipates have $1000/month left over, including paying his part of our L.A. rent and all other living expenses in SF.  I hope he did his math right!  I think $400 of that already goes to his Roth IRA, so it really is only $600 left for cash savings.

We have our travel schedule set.  Woooo!   He’ll be working from L.A. one week a month, except when we have other adventures together planned.  This makes me feel 10x better.

A final travel note, T’s going to Shanghai this winter for work.  Despite my desire, I’m probably not tagging along.  I like to tell myself these types of trips are a “once in a lifetime” chance for us to go somewhere for basically half price… except they aren’t.  These opportunities come up at least once a year, and I’m already plotting to leverage next summer’s conference into a big trip for the two of us (Greece and/or Turkey and/or Italy).  As much as I’d love to go to Shanghai again, I’m better off passing on this one.  (:::tear:::)

I have our 2nd quarter spending/income report mostly done, but I have to polish it off and post it.  Once we get T’s first check, I probably can do some projections for the rest of the year.

That covers the big stuff that is new in our finances, though there is a lot of little things going on.  I’m feeling much more inspired lately and I hope that posting will resume a more normal schedule in August.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. mochiandmacarons permalink
    July 24, 2012 10:23 am

    It all sounds good to me. As for Shanghai, I went once but I’d rather go to Greece and that big trip you are mentioning rather than go back to China again.

    Although.. Hong Kong WAS amazing.

    Sounds like it is all coming together now! 😀

    • July 24, 2012 10:48 am

      🙂 I lived there for 5 months. I would absolutely LOVE to go back! However, I’d definitely want to make a more extended vacation out of it and visit the other places I didn’t make it to (cambodia/vietnam/laos). Someday!

  2. Bonnie permalink
    July 24, 2012 10:27 am

    Wait–I feel like I missed something somewhere…will you be moving to SF too at some point? Or is this a contract job for T?

    • July 24, 2012 10:41 am

      Bonnie – sorry for not being clear! T has a 1-year position in SF, so we decided I’d stay in LA for the time being. Once he finishes the year, he should get a “tenure track” job that will be somewhat permanent, and then we’ll move wherever that is together… or stay in L.A. if he can score one here! We will likely know in late spring of 2013.

      So we are doing the long distance thing this year, which is HORRIBLE, but we’ll make the best of it.

      • Bonnie permalink
        July 26, 2012 6:40 am

        I hope the year goes by quickly and that there are plenty of cheap flights between SF and LA. 🙂 It sounds like this is something he needs to do for his career and your future!

  3. July 24, 2012 11:00 am

    Sounds like things are going great!

  4. July 26, 2012 1:04 pm

    Awesome. Sounds like everything is on track. There’s no cooking? So is it just a room then? He’ll have to eat out a lot it seems. Does he have access to a fridge/freezer with microwave at least?

    • July 26, 2012 3:08 pm

      Yes to fridge, microwave and I assume freezer. He’s kind of OK with sandwich/salads for lunch and will probably get a meal plan on his campus and have his larger meal there. And yeah, just a room. There is no other way to keep costs low in the areas he was looking.

      It isn’t the best thing, but overall, this was the clear best option to start with. It’s month-to-month, so he can change if it becomes an issue.

  5. July 27, 2012 1:06 pm

    What kind of job allows that much travel/conference? I should have chosen T’s field!

  6. belowhermeans permalink
    July 28, 2012 11:33 am

    Fun! Will you be able to have some couples’ weekends in SF?

Leave a Reply

