Skip to content

August 2012 Goals

August 3, 2012

1.  Create a real budget and stay within it:  For quite some time, we’ve merely tracked our spending without budgeting.  At least for this month, I want to really trim spending.  I don’t have a budget written down yet, but I’ll post one soon.  Basically, I want to reduce spending in all categories:  groceries, restaurants, clothes ($o), and “misc”.  This actually should be a little easier when we are living apart – less likely to tempt each other into doing something fun and expensive!

2.  Run 70 miles:  My running plan has me scheduled for even more than this, but I’m not strictly following it.  This goal has quite a bit of margin in it!  I do want to continue to build up my base and increase my long run distance.  I also have speed work in the plan, but… we’ll see.  I’m not holding myself too that yet.  Although, my next half marathon is getting a lot closer!

3. Go to yoga 8 times, including one free class:  This is about twice a week.  My Groupon deal continues for about another week.  After that, I’ll go to the paid studio1-2 times a week.  I’m exploring cheaper classes too!

4.  Read 1 book and get to at least 30% on Atlas Shrugged:  When a book is that long, I like to read two books at once.  I’m going to add something more quick into the reading mix.  I have no idea what 30% means, I just know I’m only on about 14% now!

5.  Get our Christmas plans nailed down:  We are trying to save a little cash by carpooling with my sister-in-law.  I would like to get our tickets booked this month.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2012 10:54 am

    Atlas Shrugged is one of my all-time faves!

  2. August 3, 2012 4:01 pm

    Atlas Shrugged is epic. A bit of a slog, but a book that will keep you thinking long after you finish… Hateful characters but a fantastic premise….

  3. August 13, 2012 6:38 pm

    I haven’t read Atlas Shrugged, but I frequently refer to The Fountainhead as the book that raped me.

Leave a Reply

