Skip to content

Save vs. Splurge

August 16, 2012

This month I asked your opinion twice, and here’s what I decided to do.

First, I asked generally about tips on yoga and making it affordable.  Many of you said studio is the way to go.  For me, at this point in my practice, I agree.  It has been so rewarding and I think it is worth going at least once a week.  Right now, I’m allowing a maximum of 2x a week for a worst-case cost of $88 a month.  It is a lot, but it is worth it to me.  I will try out free classes, but I’m pretty fussy about location (as in, distance from my home or work).  My yoga studio is literally a 3 minute walk from my apartment, and that is worth a lot to me.  To do this I had to buy a 20 class pack for $220.  YIKES, that was a lot all at once.  I don’t expect to have to buy it again for at least 3 months.    SPLURGE!  Although still evaluating options!

Second, I asked your opinion about staying in the wedding hotel or staying somewhere else.  I was really torn on this.  REALLY torn!  Ultimately, I cancelled the reservation that I made at BOTH the nice hotel and the crappy hotel (I’m one who covers her bases!).  I found something in between on airbnb.com.  The taxi cost will be negligible.  I still am a little upset about this, but logically, it is a horrible value to stay at the wedding hotel.  I’m a logical person, therefore I had no choice but to do the logical thing.  The savings here was $250 instead of $350 since I opted for a nicer back-up place, but the place is not a dump.  🙂  So that’s good!  More money for wine!  I mean…  SAVE!

[On a side note, no one in my real life seems to have heard of Airbnb!  I only asked like 2-3 people, but still!  Is this catching on with your friends yet?  Do you think it will?  I think it will for sure!]

Do you have a “typical” save vs. splurge pattern?  I usually splurge on things I view as one-time purchases (vacations, hotels) while avoiding large recurring expenses (yoga).  This time I did exactly the opposite!

Summary:  If you add a $30 cab ride in, my two decision had a net effect of $0!   Thanks for your inputs!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2012 1:36 pm

    I think your choice makes sense. The fact that the yoga studio is close to your home is a huge plus. Nothing is more wasteful than buying a gym/studio membership and not using it!

    I think the hotel choice makes sense also, as you’re already spending a lot for the wedding. A lot of people use the once in a lifetime oppty thing but you seem to travel a lot and know when to splurge or save.

    • August 21, 2012 10:22 pm

      yes, i’ve convinced myself NOT to justify (all) vacation spending as ‘once in a lifetime’ chances, because if my life turns out at all how I’m hoping, it really really isn’t. Lodging, in general, isn’t something I find I get a lot of value splurging on vs. other things.

  2. August 16, 2012 1:51 pm

    Great choice on the hotel, glad you saved ! Have fun at the wedding. I think I also tend to splurge on one-off purchases, or things that I really, really care about. I have a specific, expensive toilet paper brand I need (usually I can find it on sale but if I couldn’t I’d totally spend a bunch on it) but I am quite content with no name olives, or the like, where I really don’t think it matters at all and find no difference in the expensive ones and cheap ones !

  3. The Asian Pear permalink
    August 17, 2012 8:22 am

    I think Airbnb is still relatively new to North America. I think it was a good Splurge-Save choice. I have a different system. I work out my targets to save and I try to hit those. If I know I can hit my targets, I allow myself to splurge. Otherwise, it’s save-save-save.

    • August 21, 2012 10:21 pm

      one friend who hadn’t heard of it lives in london and travels a lot around europe… where did it start? I just think bloggers or people who read a lot of blogs or twitter hear about these things sooner than the rest. My husband hadn’t heard of it either.

  4. August 21, 2012 9:52 pm

    I noticed the same thing about Airbnb and IRL friends! (for this sample population, not counting blogger friends who have become IRL friends!)

    Am I incapable of doing math tonight, because it sort of seems like if you’re paying for yoga in a studio, you got a decent price for a very convenient option?

    • August 21, 2012 10:20 pm

      Yes, it is a pretty good price, but not unlimited. Which is definitely fine. But before I started yoga, I was paying $0 (obviously), so it still feels like a lot!

      I am often surprised at how much stuff I hear about online that IRL people may not be tuned into. Right when Groupon went public, my coworker said “what is groupon?!” and I looked at him like he was living under a rock since PFers had talked about it since practically it’s inception, and many already were “over it” by that point! Anyway, I find Airbnb to be such a great alternative and addition to the vacation lodging marketplace!

  5. November 9, 2012 9:08 am

    I’ve been an Airbnb host for approximately the last 5 months or so and LOVE it. I’ve also used it to stay in Santa Rosa for a weekend and really liked the idea of my money going to good people rather than a huge corporation that really didn’t care if I had a nice stay or not. If you’re ever visiting Atlanta, definitely try Airbnb before the hotels! WAY cheaper and probably an equal if not better experience!

Leave a Reply

