Skip to content

Fall Wedding Fashion Check

September 7, 2012

Yet another wedding, another dress.  This time it even has a dress code specified:  black tie optional.

I’m taking “optional” at its word, especially with the bride’s clarification on the website that “Suit and tie for the men and nice dresses for the women” are appropriate.  The wedding is outdoors at 5 p.m.  I don’t want to go with a long gown (black tie), because T won’t be renting a tux.  He has a pretty awesome suit.  The couple lives in NYC, which is generally more dressy than California casual.

This is basically the dress I already have, though I’m wondering if it is formal enough.

I bought it before I was aware of the dress code, with the intention of getting something black and flattering.  I’m willing to dress it up as much as possible with shoes/jewelery, but I am still willing to keep shopping.  I also have a bridesmaid tea length black dress in my closet that I could try to accessorize into something cute.  The budget is about $150, though I should state I got this dress for about $70.   I’d like to go with this dress, then allow more money to go to accessories.

I’m pretty sure that I’m OK with the dress, but if you have some other suggestions, let me know!  Also… jewelery!  Where do you like to buy it?  I have very few real pieces of actual jewelery.  How can I accessorize this without spending too much?   I think I can pick up a pair of cute dress heels, but I’m also open to ideas here.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2012 8:23 am

    I think that dress sounds perfect! Cute!

  2. Kassandra permalink
    September 7, 2012 3:44 pm

    I think your dress is perfect for a late afternoon fall wedding! As for accessories I love Micalla because the workmanship is spectacular but it’s a bit on the high end. Another great place to visit online is Etsy – you can find beautiful pieces in a varied price range.

    • September 7, 2012 10:19 pm

      I struggle with etsy because it is hard to tell the quality… but i guess I’ve always enjoyed my pieces from there!

  3. September 7, 2012 7:02 pm

    That dress is definitely appropriate, especially if the bride didn’t specify long dresses on the website.

    I’d go bold with the earrings and simple with the shoes – maybe emerald green and then black peep-toes. Or do a fun color on the shoe and then something classic for the earrings, like drop pearls or something. The neckline is so pretty that you don’t need to wear a necklace (but i have a bony collarbone, so I rarely wear necklaces). I’m also a fan of the arm party – bracelets layered up the arm. And a black clutch purse would be versatile in the future (but I also have Too Many Clutch Purses).

    • September 7, 2012 10:18 pm

      I can always count on you for fashion/shopping post comments! I do think i need a black clutch – a purse would be silly and the tiny tiny clutch I have is probably insufficient.

      I think i’ll go with simple shoes and the more dramatic earrings. I don’t know if i could pull off an arm party, but I’ll definitely consider it!

  4. September 7, 2012 9:49 pm

    I love that dress! I definitely think it looks formal enough, but I also haven’t been to very many weddings.

    Do you buy a new dress for every wedding?

    • September 7, 2012 10:17 pm

      Often, yes. This year i have 2 in the fall, i’ll probably wear the same one twice.

      I have had trouble with shopping and finidng dresses i really love, so i have bought… 3 in the past 3-4 years for 3 weddings. None are quite formal enough for this, and none are the most flattering cuts/styles. One is too stuffy (work appropriate gray sheath!), the other is strapless (not the best look for me, but not horrible either), and the other I still like quite a bit, but is very bright in color. I’ve reworn them all for other random things, but none of them again for weddings.

      I like this dress the most of any I’ve bought and the cut is really flattering!

  5. September 9, 2012 11:38 am

    I like the dress too. It’s very pretty. If it’s in NYC and the fall though, bring a shrug or a pashima, it might get cold!

    • Anonymous permalink*
      September 9, 2012 12:41 pm

      It is actually in NorCal wine country, but i think the advice applies!

  6. September 14, 2012 9:19 am

    The dress will definitely work for a NYC wedding. I would add a pair of killer heals and some fun jewelry and you should be all set!

    • September 14, 2012 10:29 am

      The wedding is actually in NorCal wine country, the couple is from NYC though! The killer heels don’t work well on me because I’m kinda tall and T is more average, so we have about 3″ to work with. Plus, part

      So i think i’m going with some wedge peep toes that are “just ok”. Not ideal. I almost wish I got a flashier dress now, but this one is pretty flattering!

      I’ll try to jazz it up with jewelery!

  7. September 16, 2012 7:57 pm

    Super cute ! And depending on how much you want to spend.. I love Swarvoski (Definitely spelled wrong haha) crystal jewellery. It`s under $100 for beautiful crystal stud earrings that you could wear again and again, and I have the prettiest necklace of an angel wing from there, but it was a gift so I`m not totally sure about price !

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

