Skip to content

Money In, Money Out: 2012 Q3

October 21, 2012

Income, Deductions, Taxes, 401k:

This was a great quarter for income – T brought in almost as much as I did!  He had some consulting work and a cash award for top dissertation in addition to starting up his post-doc work in NorCal.

Spending:

This is all for two people.

Rent spending increased because we started paying for T’s place in August and September.  Travel was due to the wine country weekend (as is a lot of the alcohol) and purchased Christmas flights home.   Electronics spending was T’s new iPhone 5.  Personal was primarily haircuts, eyebrows, and nail care, but also some make-up and more frivolous stuff.  Clothes is partially due to getting an outfit for the wedding.  It looks like fuel went up sharply – we took two big road trips, plus prices have increased.

This quarter, I’m focusing on spending much less on clothes and personal care.  If I start marathon  training, the “hobbies” category will grow.  I’m a little nervous about this, but at the same time, I really really love running and racing.

And here’s a visual look:

Savings (outside of 401k) and Money Summary:

Our cash savings were ZERO this quarter, but only because I refuse to count savings until the money is transferred from checking accounts into our savings accounts.  We weren’t on top of that at all, but transferred about $7000 this month.   Next quarter should show a great improvement!  We saved a few thousand in our Roths, in addition to my 401k savings above.

Summary:

I didn’t include our net worth in these post, though I still have been tracking it.  I’ll do a wrap up at the end of the year.

I’d like to see our spending go down in indulgent areas like restaurants, alcohol, and clothes.  We’ll work towards that for Q4!   We’ll be allocating more of our budget towards gifts… and probably a few races leading up to the L.A. marathon.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2012 11:46 am

    Wow, that was a pretty great quarter for income – ~$9,000 net per month!

    I’m curious why student loan went up – did you make an extra payment in Q3?

    I’ve started making pie charts of my spending. I think it’s an easier to understand presentation method than lists/tables of numbers.

    • October 21, 2012 1:05 pm

      I did. Every now and then, I get an urge to throw a little extra towards it, and this was one of those moments. It is a pretty low priority for now (still working on retirement + cash), but we might put a little extra towards it once T’s income becomes consistant.

  2. October 22, 2012 7:25 am

    You didn’t have to spend that much on insurance. That’s nice. Did you change policies or companies and did it lead to savings?

    • October 22, 2012 7:48 am

      We pay our renters + property (largely my wedding ring) insurance in january only. The car insurance is every six months. Renters insurance in this area is actually quite expensive, and the jewelery rider is about an extra $200.

Leave a Reply

