Skip to content

November 2012 Goals

November 3, 2012

1.  Start Marathon Training Plan!  I haven’t registered yet, because I’m worried I’m going to put too much on my plate this spring.  But I want to start training and see how it goes.  I did sign up for a half marathon in December with my friend!

2.  Finish the 2 books I’m in the middle of (and start another)  I wish I could read faster.  And I’m a fast reader!

3.  Make progress on CodeAcademy Java (goal to complete by end of December)  I can do basic programing (C, MATLAB mainly), but I’ve never used Java before.   I want to learn the syntax and how to work with an object orientated language. (I have minimal experience with SystemVerilog, , but it has been awhile.)   For my job, MATLAB and Excel are sufficient, but I want to expand my knowledge.  I also want to take a Coursera class on networking in January, and Java skills are recommended.

4.   Take pictures in Venice Beach: This is something my mom asked me to do about a million years ago.  I’m a horrible daughter.

5.  Take next (non-technical) professional development class

6.  Track all spending:  Per usual.

7.  Limit clothing purchases to things I already bought + 1-2 cheap t-shirts and 1 work shirt:  I discovered my favorite thing to wear on weekends are t-shirts that are boring and comfy.  I also could use 1 new work top.  It is 11/3 and I already bought a couple things that are needed for work events.  I have a birthday coupon from BR, and plan to buy a fresh top.

non-technical professional development class

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2012 8:28 pm

    Which marathon are you planning on signing up for? I just registered for two races this weekend – it’s so addictive. 😉

  2. November 4, 2012 9:52 pm

    I absolutely love sleeping in the Gap’s ribbed tank tops, but I refuse to pay more than $5 for something I’m only ever going to sleep in. The last time I was in the Gap, I found some for $5 which actually rung up for $3.48 apiece! I was pretty happy about that.

    example: http://www.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=17081&vid=1&pid=791253592

Leave a Reply

