Skip to content

November Catch-up

November 28, 2012

I’m pretty sure I failed several of my goals this month.  That is OK.  I was busier than I expected to be, and it was a really great month.

I had a wonderful Thanksgiving with friends here.  My neighbor hosted, I made some easy appetizers, a salad, and provided wine.  Someone else did the hard stuff (turkey) and made yummy gourmet-style sides.  And pumpkin pie!  It was the nicest Thanksgivings T and I have had in awhile.  I miss my family on Thanksgiving, but it has been years since I’ve been home for one.  (For this reason, a few midwestern cities made it onto T’s application list.)  When we went around the table, I said I was thankful for my husband and for California.  I truly am.  I love it here so much.

Like Revanche, I did some online clothes shopping, but so far, nothing has stuck.  I shopped online and returned everything so far.  I still have some pants coming.  We’ll see if those are any better.

I did purchase a gown late last month, and attended a work ball hosted by some of our customers.  It was really awesome, so much fun!  I got to meet some of the highest ranking people in my company (SoCal division, at least) and hang out with several of my peers.  I also met one of our major customers, and he happened to go the the same undergrad university as me!  It is a huge coincidence, because I didn’t go to a big famous school!  Quite the opposite!

We also attended a wedding, and I had a GREAT experience with Rent the Runway.  I probably should do a full post on that, but just in case I don’t, I want to endorse it here.  Aside from the awesome dress, the wedding was super fun as well.  The bride and groom are on a six-week round-the-world honeymoon.  I’m half-dead with envy.

Work has been really busy and weird.  I’ve gotten sucked into a new job, and I’m not sure whether or not I want it.  I am learning a lot, so I’m happy for now.  My other job is kind of in a holding period, but if the work we’ve discussed materializes, I want that job too.  I really want to do both jobs 50/50, but I’m not optimistic at the feasibility.  I hate to choose.  I want to do everything!  But it is much more important to do a job really well than to do a lot of jobs.

Performance reviews are coming, and I have no idea what to think.  It’s been a dynamic year and I’ve grown a lot, but I’m not sure how that will translate into my rating.   Raises come a little bit later, but my rating will give me a good indication of what I can expect.

The long distance stuff is going OK, but I say that after spending a long stretch together.  It gets really hard.  I’m glad it is temporary.  I do think it will be worth it.  I hope.

I was training for the LA marathon, but my friend couldn’t come for it and wanted to do a spring marathon.  Now I’ll start training for the SLO marathon.  I really hope she doesn’t flake out on me!  I’m doing a half in December and I’ll use that to judge my current fitness.  I’m hoping for a PR, as always.

Money-wise, things are stable.  I think our savings are growing, but I haven’t been watching too closely.  We’ve ate out more than necessary (as always) and holiday shopping has begun.  T managed to escape paying NorCal rent for 1.5 months, so that will certainly help.

I hope you all had a great November too! I’m definitely looking forward to December, the holidays, meeting my newest nephew in the midwest, and a few days away from work!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2012 9:32 pm

    You should definitely do a post on Rent the Runway! I’m wanting to rent my NYE dress from them.

  2. November 28, 2012 11:05 pm

    Thanks for the link!

    Also: MAYBE they will split you. Try asking. I arranged for that to happen for one of mine because I didn’t want to give her up, she was really valuable and much of her value to the other group stemmed from her being in our group, but I knew that she could also benefit from participating in the other group. So I proposed a 50/50 share with a promotion for her funded by the other group. Win (us) -win (us) -win (her promotion). Also win – her overall satisfaction.

    • November 28, 2012 11:33 pm

      it is not very formal, with the way the company is structured. Permission/agreement shouldn’t be tough. While management generally frowns on splitting jobs (for valid reasons), its more accepted in the IR&D / business development side. Funding is a little less stable, and most people are working more than one thing.

      My concern is managing expectations at each job, and navigating priorities, and keeping people impressed on both sides. I don’t want the expectations of two full time jobs with only one me! Execution is the tricky part.

      Still, i do need to ask/discuss my plans with the older job boss to get feedback! ASAP!

  3. November 30, 2012 7:12 pm

    I’m confused… What’s Rent the Runway? I googled and found their link but I had to register! And I tried to click what it’s about and they gave a vague description. Do they send you the clothes and you rent and return like Netflicks?

    • November 30, 2012 7:27 pm

      Pretty much, yes! Sort of like how guys often rent tuxes to be in weddings or go to prom, women can now rent dresses for events.

      It IS annoying that they hide behind a login screen. I’ll do a post next week with more details!

Leave a Reply

