Skip to content

Thinking about 2013 Goals

January 7, 2013

After spending Christmas in the Midwest with T’s family, we made it back to L.A. just in time to sleep through the ringing in of the new year!  We were up at 9 a.m. eastern time and didn’t even try to make it until 12 p.m. Pacific Time!

2013 has been treating me well.  T has been in town where he belongs (yay!), I got in a nice long run on New Years Day then caught a gorgeous sunrise from mountains on my first trail run last week.  I’m still getting into the swing of things at work, but I think it is going to be an exciting year.

However, I’m really struggling with setting my personal goals this year.  I want to keep pushing and growing, but I also want to focus on the things that matter.  My life is pretty full of things I love.  I don’t want to cut out anything I’m currently doing in order to make room for the new things I want to pursue.  Yet, I don’t have room for a lot of new things without sacrificing sleep or downtime.

Outside of work, I’m not currently pursuing anything big and challenging and new.  For a long time, my big challenges were school related.  I got my B.S., then a job, then an M.S. while working

After that, I focused on incorporating regular running into my life and trained for my first marathon.  I still love running, but it is now just a part of my happy routine rather than something I can push really far.  I can get a little faster, but I don’t think that would help me enjoy it more.

Last year was a year of pushing at work & steering my career into a direction I wanted to it to go.  Work is indeed still a challenge, but I’m already in a great and challenging role, and I just need to execute and continue stretching and growing in my current role.  So, I’m really happy at work and I’m not looking for a big change there, because I still have so much to learn where I’m at.

In fact, I’m happy with nearly all aspects of my life right now.  As long as T gets a job and we can resume living in the same city soon, I don’t want to make any big changes.  (Him getting a job is something I have no control over, but will have the most impact on our 2013.)

It is great that happy with things, but it feels odd not to be pushing for some specific new achievements.  I worry that if I’m not pushing for something big and exciting, then I’m stagnating.  Or just getting old!

Did you ever have a year where you couldn’t come up with any big goals?  Do you have any this year?  How do you manage balance being content with continuing to grow?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2013 8:35 pm

    I have had years like that. It’s good to be content with your life. You will come up with something for your next project or hobby that will push you again out of your comfort zone.

  2. January 7, 2013 9:39 pm

    In 2012, my professional life was kind of like that. I definitely achieved very little professionally, but I have a new start with that now and I’m not moving. I think that 2013 will be a good year professionally for me. I have some big goals for this year and for 2015, but I think 2014 will be somewhat calmer.

    Buying a condo was a HUGE project and I’ve been working on littler projects now. It’s quite freeing. Home decorating passively is somewhat of a relaxing project 🙂

Leave a Reply

