Skip to content

Hello? Is this thing on?

March 29, 2013

Hello!

I didn’t mean to quit blogging. However, I’ve always blogged for fun, and I have had other priorities that prevented me from writing about my money. It’s the usual suspects keeping me busy: work and marathon training.  I expect to have a little more free time starting very very soon!

I’m also much less money-focused than I once was, for better or worse. Actually, this is certainly for the worse. I don’t even want to admit how much we spent on eating out and groceries (and other things we buy at the store, like alcohol and cleaning supplies) in 2012. It was surprising, but ignoring the numbers doesn’t mean they aren’t happening.

Finally, I blame my iPad. I can read blogs all day and my bluetooth keyboard allows me to easily comment (except when they fail and i eventually give up…) However, the interface doesn’t work for writing blog posts, at least not very well. My laptop stays closed up for days and days. Writing a blog post isn’t as convenient as it was in my pre-iPad days (when I was on my laptop anyway).

Oh, and I know that you are supposed to blog on a schedule to keep your audience, but I only blog when I have something to say. My audience will remain small-ish, but very very high quality!

OK, you made it this far. Here’s those embarrassing numbers that I wasn’t even going to tell you about.

  • 2012 Restaurant Spending: $3332
  • 2012 Grocery + misc spending: $4844
  • 2012 Alcohol spending (sometimes I delineate this, but not always): $983 (to be fair, over 1/3 of this was wine we bought in nappa and haven’t yet touched)

That is $404/month on groceries, $277 on all kinds of going out to eat, and $90/mo on alcohol. For two people, of course, but… still.

I’m mortified. With so much being up in the air regarding savings, jobs, and incomes, my top 2013 finance goal is to spend less than 2012 in ALL of these categories. Actually, I would like to spend less in most every category except perhaps travel!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2013 6:32 am

    We definitely spend a LOT of money of food, restaurants and drinks also. It’s crazy once you add it all up!

  2. Dave permalink
    March 31, 2013 12:06 pm

    This doesn’t seem too bad to me, for good quality food in Southern California. This comes out to $22.45 per day on food/sundries purchased at the grocery store.

    In 2012, we seem to have spent $12,676 in groceries for two (this includes alcohol) and $5,403 in dining out. Divided out, this comes to almost $50 a day in food. Ouch! I guess there’s a reason why it’s called Whole Paycheck! Another interesting statistic is percentage of total spending, if I look at it that way, it’s only 8% of the total spent on food. Seems better, when I put it that way somehow.

    Also, comparing against 2011, we actually spent $1000 LESS in groceries/dining in 2012. Interestingly, the percentage of total spend in 2011 was also almost exactly 8% on food/dining.

    I’m not sure what all this proves, but it’s food for thought. (Sorry, couldn’t resist!)

    • March 31, 2013 4:18 pm

      🙂 Thanks for thinking it doesn’t seem so bad. I also don’t always subtract out things like toiletries and beer if we buy it at the grocery store. I don’t really watch my grocery budget, so it certainly could be improved!

  3. March 31, 2013 7:32 pm

    Well, at least you’re doing better than I am! I feel like I have lots to say but no idea how to say it.

    I don’t think your numbers look so bad. Chad and I just started eating out more often, and it’s amazing how it all adds up!

    • March 31, 2013 8:32 pm

      Lots to say? please start blogging again! 🙂

  4. April 1, 2013 8:36 pm

    With mobile websites getting better, I read a lot of blogs on my phone these days. It’s a bit annoying of a medium for both commenting and writing posts though!

    I’ll share my embarrassing numbers as well:
    * $4,070.20 on restaurants (includes out with friends, by myself, and work lunches)
    * $1,518.59 on groceries
    * $5,588.79 total on food
    This is for just one person!! :/

    I’m pretty embarrassed by the first number, restaurants. It doesn’t look nearly as bad in my spreadsheets since I separate it out into social eating / eating by myself / work lunches.

    I’m working on getting these down in 2013. Three months in, I’ve spent $1,028.22 on food this year, which would project forward to $4,112.88, ~75% of last year’s spending! I could still probably improve on that a bit, but it should still be a huge improvement over 2012.

    I do subtract out toilet paper and other toiletries, but not alcohol since I buy so little of it. I used to budget for alcohol separately but it’s so hard to budget for it with how infrequently I buy it…

  5. April 8, 2013 10:03 am

    You know, our numbers were just as bad last year, possibly (probably) worse on the food and eating out front. I keep feeling like: I wasn’t that social!! But of course, it’s not just me…. 😉

    Glad you’re back, I assumed you were busy with work and life, particularly now with T’s new thing, so I’d hoped you’d be back when you had time. I agree that the iPad is just not that conducive to blogging. I end up jotting notes down in an email to myself if any post-ish thoughts come to me while working on it.

Leave a Reply

